HW English
Karnataka Election 2018

BS Yeddyurappa sworn in as Karnataka CM

BJP legislature party leader B S Yeddyurappa was today sworn in as the chief minister of Karnataka for the second time. The veteran politician took the oath of office “in the name of God and farmer” while sporting a green shawl draped on his shoulders, a nod to farmer activism in Karnataka.

Karnataka governor Vajubhai Vala administered the oath in the presence of senior state BJP leaders and Union ministers, even as Janata Dal (Secular) and Congress leaders protested outside. Heavy police security was put in place to ensure that no untoward incident occurs on the occasion.

The party, which emerged as the single largest party in the Assembly, secured 104 seats in the 224-member House, just short of majority. It has to prove its strength on the floor of the House within 15 days.

Senior advocate Abhishek Manu Singhvi, appearing for Congress-JD (S) combine, said that the swearing-in ceremony should be stayed or deferred, but the bench stated: “We are not staying the oath taking ceremony”.

ala has given Yeddyurappa 15 days to prove his majority on the floor of the house, prompting analysts to fear that the BJP will use this period to convince legislators of the Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) to abstain from voting. The Congress also objected to the length of time provided to the BJP.


Related posts

Fresh trouble for Jignesh Mevani and Prakash Raj; BJP files complaint to EC for defamatory comments

News Desk

BJP rigging EVMs to win elections: Shiv Sena

News Desk

Rahul asks people to participate in ‘festival of democracy’ by voting