HW English
Karnataka Election 2018

Karnataka Election: Vijayendra’s candidature is not needed now: Yeddyurappa

MYSURU: Karnataka BJP workers on Monday raised to aggression as the state party chief B S Yeddyurappa announced that his younger son B Y Vijayendra won’t be the party candidate from Varuna. The announcement was seems to be quite peculiar as CM Siddarmaiah’s son DDrYathindra is contesting form the Varuna seat.

The announcement was made by Yeddyurappa at the party workers convention in Nanjangud. As the party leaders left the workers got outraged by the decision. The situation got so worse that the police had to lathi charge and move the BJP workers from the place in order to maintain peace and law order.

The heated group of BJP workers accused Anantha Kumar, D V Sadananda Gowda, Anantkumar Hegde, former DyCM R Ashoka, Mysuru MP Prathap Simha and BJP organization secretary BL Santosh of conspiring to deny Vijayendra the ticket. They showed their anger by beating the leaders’ photographs with slippers.

Yeddyurappa while clarifying about the decision said that “He is happy with his son gaining huge popularity in little time. Vijayendra has become one among you”.Yeddyurappa added that “Let us not restrict him to Varuna alone as he has to take care of 20 segments in the region. The party will field a grassroots activist. Work for his victory”.

The party workers were not happy with the decision of the senior leadership and turned the convention center turned into a battleground. The workers urged Vijayendra to file his nomination as planned.

Yeddyurappa denied that the RSS had declined Vijayendra’s candidate. Yeddyurappa told reporters that it wasn’t needed at this point of time,“I felt his candidature isn’t needed now”.

The Karnataka assembly election will be held in on May 12, 2018, in all 224 constituencies of the Legislative Assembly. The counting of votes and announcement of result will take place on May 15, 2018.

Related posts

Karnataka Assembly Elections: PM Modi to address farmers in Davangere

News Desk

38.6 percent voting till now; Dakshin Kannada records highest 31 percent

News Desk

Counting of votes for Karnataka Assembly polls on Tuesday