HW English
Karnataka Election 2018

Karnataka elections: Congress changes 6 names in the final list of candidates

Publishing the final list of candidates for the May 12 Karnataka Assembly elections, the Congress announced a change in the name of candidates in six seats and selected nominees for five other seats on Sunday.

The AICC announced the names of candidates for five of the 224 constituencies where it had not announced candidates and changed candidates in six constituencies from those named its first list announced on April 15.

The party replaced nominee HS Chandra Mouli in Madikeri as he was the lawyer of diamond trader Mehul Choksi, who fled the country in January after allegedly defrauding the Punjab National Bank along with his nephew Nirav Modi.

Putting an end to speculation over whether Siddaramaiah would contest a second seat apart from Chamundeshwari in his home district of Mysore, the Congress declared him as the candidate for the Badami constituency in Bagalkot in north Karnataka.

Among the other constituencies where the Congress changed its candidates is Jagalur (ST seat) where the party had announced the candidature of A L Puspha. But following severe pressure, the party replaced her with HP Rajesh, the sitting MLA.


Related posts

SC witnesses high-voltage hearing on Karnataka crisis


Rahul’s PM remark is sheer arrogance: PM Modi

News Desk

SC Clears BS Yeddyurappa’s Oath in an all-nighter

News Desk