Connect with us

Madhya Pradesh Election 2018

Madhya Pradesh polls: New faces dominate Congress’ third list



Bhopal | The Congress has issued its third list of 13 candidates for the November 28 assembly polls in Madhya Pradesh, which mainly comprises new faces.

The party has dropped Pandhurna MLA Jatan Uikey and replaced him with Neelesh Uikey.

Loyalists of Madhya Pradesh Congress president Kamal Nath and Guna MP Jyotiraditya Scindia also found place on the list.

Both Scindia and Nath, the sitting MP from Chhindwara seat, are believed to be the top contenders for the chief minister’s post from the Congress.

With the latest list issued Monday night, the Congress has so far announced 184 nominees for the total 230 assembly constituencies.

The announcement for the remaining 46 candidates is awaited as only three days are left for filing nominations.

The Congress has been out of power in Madhya Pradesh since 2003. The incumbent Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) government is seeking a fourth straight term.

Among the 13 candidates, the Congress has fielded former state minister Deepak Saxena, a close confidante of Kamal Nath, from Chhindwara seat.

Another prominent nominee is Mahendra Singh Sisodiya, a loyalist of state Congress campaign committee chief Jyotiraditya Scindia, who has been renominated from Bamori in Guna district.

The Congress seems to have reposed faith in the first-timers in its latest list.

Among the new nominees are Sunil Uikey from Junnardeo and Sujit Choudhary from Chourai assembly seat in Chhindwara district.

The party has replaced Pandhurna MLA Jatan Uikey with Neelesh Uikey.

The Congress has also fielded Manoj Choudhary, a first-timer, from Hatpipalya in Dewas district.

Other candidates who would be contesting the polls as first-time Congress nominees are Shrikant Chaturvedi (Maihar) and Ramshankar Payasi (Rampur Baghelan) in Satna district.

Babita Saket who switched over to the Congress from BSP (Bahujan Samaj Party) was allotted ticket from Mangavan seat in Rewa district.

The Congress has fielded Tilak Raj Singh and Sammati Prakash Saini from Manpur in Umaria district and Panagar in Jabalpur district respectively.

Jaipal Singh Jajji, who had lost the 2013 polls from Ashok Nagar seat, has been nominated from the same seat.

Arif Masood, who had lost from Bhopal Central constituency last time, has also been given a ticket.

The Congress announced its first list of 155 candidates on November 3 in which it renominated 46 MLAs. A day after, it announced the second list of 16 candidates.

In the 230-member house, the Congress has 57 MLAs.

Madhya Pradesh Election 2018

Mamata, Mayawati invited for Kamal Nath’s swearing-in on Dec 17




Kamal Nath; BJP

Bhopal | The Congress has invited leaders from across the political spectrum for the swearing-in ceremony of party stalwart Kamal Nath taking charge as chief minister of Madhya Pradesh on December 17.

Nath, a nine-time MP from Chhindwara seat and currently president of state Congress unit, will take oath at a grand function to be held at Jamboree Maidan in BHEL area here instead of Lal Parade Ground as announced earlier. He had told reporters Friday that the swearing-in ceremony would take place at Lal Parade Ground around 1.30 pm.

According to sources in Congress, the change of venue is apparently aimed at accommodating a huge crowd the party is expecting for the ceremony. Notably, Jambooree Maidan is the venue where Nath’s predecessor Shivraj Singh Chouhan of the BJP had taken the oath with much fanfare in 2008 and 2013.

“I will take oath alone,” Nath told PTI, when asked who else will take oath along with him. This means that aspirants seeking ministerial berths will have to wait for some more time.

Nath will become the first chief minister of a Congress government in the central Indian state after a gap of 15 years.

Digvijaya Singh was the last chief minister of Congress in Madhya Pradesh. The BJP snatched power from the grand old party in 2003 and went on to retain it till its narrow defeat on December 11.

According to Congress sources, apart from UPA chairperson Sonia Gandhi and party president Rahul Gandhi, Nath has invited West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee, Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu, BSP chief Mayawati and SP president Akhilesh Yadav for the event. Besides, chief ministers of all Congress-ruled states are being invited, they said.

Leading industrialists and religious saints will also be present on the occasion, sources said.

The Bahujan Samajwadi Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP) have extended their support to Nath for forming the government after the Congress failed to cross the halfway mark (115) on its own.

The Congress won 114 seats in the 230-member Assembly. The party has secured the support of total 121 MLAs, including SP (1), BSP (2) and four Independent MLAs.

Apart from Madhya Pradesh, the Congress has come to power in Chhattisgarh and Rajasthan by dislodging the respective BJP governments there in the latest polls.

Continue Reading

Madhya Pradesh Election 2018

Congress’s Kamal Nath to stake claim to form Madhya Pradesh government




Kamal Nath; BJP

Bhopal | Congress leader Kamal Nath will meet Governor Anandiben Patel Friday in Raj Bhavan here to stake claim to form a government in Madhya Pradesh. The party won 114 seats in the 230-member House, the poll result of which was declared on December 11.

It has secured the support of a total of 121 MLAs, including SP – 1 and BSP – 2 legislators as also of four independents, to cross the majority mark of 116 seats.

The Congress Thursday night had named Kamal Nath as Madhya Pradesh’s next chief minister after hours of hectic parleys held by the party chief Rahul Gandhi with senior party leaders.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), which ruled the state for 15 years, got 109 seats in the elections.

Continue Reading

Madhya Pradesh Election 2018

Kamal Nath to be the next Madhya Pradesh Chief Minister announces Congress

News Desk



kamal nath
Putting all the suspense surrounding the appointment of the new chief minister for the state of Madhya Pradesh, theCongress Party on Thursday  in a tweet announced veteran leader Kamal Nath as the new chief minister of Madhya Pradesh.
The Congress party in the recently concluded assembly election ended the 15 year governance of BJP and energed as the single largest party with 114 seats. However its failed to surpass the majority mark in the 230 seats state assembly. With the support of BSP, SP and other independent the COngress staked claim to form the government in Madhya Pradesh. Kamal Nath who is a 9-time member of parliament from the Chindwara constituency of Madhya Pradesh was appointed as president of the Congress Madhya Pradesh unit before the election. Kamalnath was the minister of Parliamentary affairs in the Manmohan Singh cabinet.

The appointment of Kamalnath was a tough task for the Congress leadership as it had to choose between him and the young Jyotiradtiya Scindia for the post of Chief Minister in Madhya Pradesh

Continue Reading

Live TV – 24×7


Popular Stories

Copyright © 2018 Theo Connect Pvt. Ltd.