Connect with us

Rajasthan Election 2018

BJP MLA Gyan Dev Ahuja booked for violating model code in Rajasthan



Gyan Dev Ahuja

Jaipur | BJP MLA Gyan Dev Ahuja has been booked for violating the model code of conduct by allegedly distributing money to his supporters during a rally before filing nomination papers as an independent candidate on Monday. The action was taken after a video purportedly showing Ahuja distributing money went viral.

Returning officer of Sanganer constituency Jagat Rajeshwar said the FIR was lodged with Banipark Police Station under sections of the Representation of the People’s Act on Monday. The case has been transferred to CID (CB) for investigation as the matter is related to a sitting MLA.

After denial of ticket, Ahuja, a three-time MLA, filed nomination papers from Sanganer constituency as an independent candidate. He won the last election from Ramgarh constituency but he was dropped this time.

Rajasthan Election 2018

Congress set to win Rajasthan, legislature party meets on Wednesday





Jaipur | The Congress was close to victory on Tuesday in Rajasthan, where its candidates were declared elected on 26 seats and were leading on 75 others as the party shifted focus on picking the state’s next chief minister.

The ruling BJP had bagged 15 seats and was leading on 57, Bahujan Samaj Party won three and was leading on three, Bhartiya Tribal Party won two, the Rashtriya Loktantrik Party was leading on three and the CPI(M) won one and was leading on one more.

Four independents had won and eight others were leading, according to the trends given out by the Election Commission.

The Congress Legislature Party in Rajasthan will meet Wednesday morning to discuss its leader, who will go on to be the chief minister.

The two frontrunners are Rajasthan Congress Committee president Sachin Pilot and two-time chief minister Ashok Gehlot.

The final decision is expected to be announced after the observers sent by the All India Congress Committee to the legislators’ meeting in Jaipur return to Delhi and brief Congress chief Rahul Gandhi.

“The Congress Legislature Party meeting will take place tomorrow. AICC general secretary K C Venugopal has arrived for the meeting, Pilot said Tuesday while counting was still in progress.

The observer was also expected to meet the two frontrunners individually.

In a show of unity, both Gehlot and Pilot along with other leaders appeared before the media, flashing the victory sign.

Rajasthan has a 200-member assembly but polling on Alwar’s Ramgarh constituency was postponed following the death of the Bahujan Samaj Party candidate.

Among the early Congress winners are Johri Lal Meena (Rajgarh-Laxmangarh), Madan Prajapapat (Pachpadra), Zahida Khan (Kaman), Ramlal Jat (Mandal) and Prashant Bairwa (Niwai).

BJP’s Santosh (Anupgarh), Kaluram (Dag), Sama Ram Garaisa (Pindwara-Abu) and Jagsi Ram (Reodar) had also won.

Bahujan Samaj Party’s Sandeep Kumar (Tijara) and Wajib Ali (Nagar) were among the other winners declared so far.

The BJP’s apparent failure to retain the state comes intensive electioneering, which involved Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Rajnath Singh and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath.

The trend that BJP and the Congress parties are voted to power alternately appeared to hold in the state.

Ashok Gehlot said people had given their mandate to the Congress and it will get a clear majority in the state.

“Congress will form the government. This is the mandate of public, which is in favour of the Congress party, he said.

We will get a clear majority and will also take along other parties or candidates who quit the BJP for us,” he told reporters here.

Continue Reading

Rajasthan Election 2018

Kailash Meghwal, oldest legislator, elected by whopping 74,542 votes





Jaipur, Dec 11 (PTI) Rajasthan Assembly Speaker Kailash Meghwal on Tuesday registered a thumping victory in the state polls by defeating his nearest rival with a record 74,542 votes.

The five-time MLA defeated Congress candidate Mahaveer Prasad from Shahpura seat of Bhilwara constituency.

Meghwal (84) was pitted by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) for the second time from Shahpura seat. He had won the 2013 assembly election by a margin of 43,666 votes.

The Speaker in the 14th Rajasthan Assembly was born on March 22, 1934, in Majwada of Udaipur district. He completed his MA and LLB. He has held various political portfolios in the state and central government.

Meghwal, a three-time MP and former Union minister, has worked for awakening the oppressed sections of the society for their educational and economic advancement.

Continue Reading

Rajasthan Election 2018

Will get clear majority, also take along other parties, candidates who quit BJP: Gehlot





Jaipur | The Congress is likely to go for a post-poll alliance in Rajasthan, where it is approaching towards a majority mark, former chief minister Ashok Gehlot said on Tuesday.

The Congress needs 100 seats out of 199 that went to the polls to form the government, and as of now, the Congress has won 16 seats while leading on 85, taking its probable tally to 101. The BJP has won nine seats and is leading on 63.

The election to one seat in a House of 200 was put off following the death of a BSP candidate.

Gehlot indicated towards assembling an alliance by taking along willing parties and the candidates who have parted ways with the BJP.

The Congress has contested the assembly elections with a pre-poll alliance on a total of five seats — Mundawar and Kushalgarh (with Loktantrik Janta Dal (LJD); Bharatpur and Malpura (with Rashtriya Lok Dal (RLD); and Bali (with NCP).

“The Congress will form the government. This is the mandate of the public, which is in favour of the Congress party. We will get a clear majority and will also take along other parties or candidates who quit the BJP,” Gehlot told reporters as trends indicated a victory for his party.

Two independents have won the elections and 10 are leading, while the BSP has won three and is leading on as many. One candidate of other party has won and five are leading.

Several of the independent candidates are Congress rebels and are likely to support the the party when it comes to government formation, a party leader said.

“The Congress is sure to form the government. The BSP will be the first choice for the post-poll alliance, if required. Besides, rebel candidates would also support the Congress government,” another party leader said.

In 2008, the Congress had won 96 seats and the party formed the government led by Ashok Gehlot with the support of six BSP lawmakers, who had defected to the Congress, and a few independents.

Continue Reading

Popular Stories

Copyright © 2018 Theo Connect Pvt. Ltd.