HW English
Telangana Elections 2018

TRS wins 60 seats, Congress 3 in Telangana


Hyderabad | Ruling TRS won 17 seats and the Congress three as per results available till 1 pm Tuesday in the counting of votes polled in the December 7 Telangana assembly elections. The first two results went to the TRS with its candidates M Sanjay Kumar and Sunke Ravishankar winning with impressive margins.

Sanjay Kumar defeated his nearest Congress rival T Jeevan Reddy by a margin of 57,127 votes in in Jagtial constituency, according to official information. Ravishankar won from Choppadandi by a margin of 42,249 votes against his nearest Congress rival Medipalli Satyam.

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi was also leading in at least 70 seats as it appeared set for a big win in the polls to the 119-member assembly.

Congress was leading in 18 segments.

Caretaker Chief Minister and TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao was leading in Gajwel by 27,329 votes over his nearest Congress rival after the ninth round of counting.

In Siddipet segment, TRS candidate T Harish Rao, a nephew of the chief minister, established an unassailable lead of 1,19,622 votes after completion of 19 rounds of counting.

Related posts

Telangana Assembly Election 2018: All you need to know

Arti Ghargi

Will come back to power with huge majority: K Chandrasekhar Rao


Swami Paripoornananda joins BJP ahead of Telangana Assembly election

News Desk