BJP Sweeps UP MLC Polls, Loses In Varanasi; Counting Underway

Lucknow: With the counting of ballots in the biennial elections for 27 seats in the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council began on Tuesday, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is aiming for a majority in the House.

BJP Sweeping Majority Seats 

The BJP has set its sights on becoming the single-largest party in the state Legislative Council by capturing a majority of the 36 Upper House seats, following a spectacular victory in the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections. The BJP now has 34 MLCs, the SP 17, and the Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) four in the 100-member Legislative Council, where 37 posts are vacant but elections were held for 36 seats. In the House, the Congress, Apna Dal (Sonelal), and Nishad Party each have one representative.

The BJP has already won nine seats without facing any opposition.


ses In Varanasi 

Dr Sudama Patel, a BJP contender, has lost the Varanasi seat. Annapurna Singh, the wife of imprisoned mobster Brijesh Kumar Singh, won the seat as an independent candidate.

With 4,234 votes, Singh won, with 345 votes for Samajwadi Party (SP) candidate Umesh Yadav and 170 votes for the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

A total of 4,749 votes were verified to be legitimate during Tuesday’s counting. From the first round of vote counting, Singh had grabbed the lead.

The Voter Turn-Out In The MLC Elections 

According to data shared by the office of the Uttar Pradesh chief electoral officer after the voting ended at 4 p.m. on Saturday, an estimated 98.11 percent of voters exercised their franchise to elect members to the Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council from 27 local body constituencies spread across 58 districts.

Raebareli had the highest polling percentage of 99.35 percent, followed by Pratapgarh (99.25 percent), Sitapur (99.2 percent), and Barabanki (99.2 percent) (99.16 per cent). However, Gorakhpur-Maharajganj had the lowest turnout, with 96.5 percent, followed by Etawah-Farrukhabad (96.65 percent) and Muzaffarnagar-Saharanpur (96.65 percent) (96.69 per cent).

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts