HW English

2007 Hyderabad blast case: 2 convicted, while 2 other acquitted

Hyderabad | The National Investigation Agency (NIA) court on Tuesday announced its judgement in the 2007 Hyderabad double blast case.

The Court convicted Aneeq Shafeeq Sayeed and Ismail Chaudhary while the two other accused (Farooq Sharfuddin Tarkish & Mohd Sadiq) in the case have been acquitted. The Court will pronounce its judgement on one more accused Tareeq Anjum on Monday. All five accused are lodged in Charlapalli Jail while two other (Riyaz Bhatkal and Iqbal Bhatkal) are absconding. The Court was earlier supposed to announce the verdict on August 27 but was postponed to 4 September .

Around 42 people were killed and more than 50 were injured in a twin blast in at Hyderabad’s Gokul Chat and Lumbini park area on 25 August 2007. Telangana Police’s Central Investigation (CI) wing, the investigation agency had filed three charge sheet against Indian Mujaheddin (IM) operatives Aneeq Shafiq Syed, Mohammed Sadiq, Akbar Ismail Choudhary, Ansar Ahmed Badshah Sheikh and Tariq Anjum.

The accused were earlier charged under section 302 (murder) and other relevant provisions of the IPC and sections of Explosive Substances Act. The Maharashtra Anti Terrorist Squad (ATS) had arrested the alleged the IM operatives and handed them to the Gujarat ATS in October 2008.


Related posts

Manish Sisodia visits Yamuna belt area, urges people to move to safer places


Breaking News: Hardik Patel Appointed As Gujarat Congress Working President

Arti Ghargi

Three militants, minor held hostage by ultras killed in encounters in J&K