DMK Chief MK Stalin Takes Oath As Chief Minister Of Tamil Nadu

Election strategist Prashant Kishor, who masterminded the election win, was also present for the swearing-in ceremony of MK Stalin.

DMK chief MK Stalin, at the Raj Bhavan in Chennai this morning, was sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, along with 33 members of his cabinet, by Governor Banwarilal Purohit. Mr Stalin took oath in a simple ceremony amid restrictions in place due to the pandemic.

His wife, Durga Stalin; son, Udhayanidhi, who won from Chennai’s Chepauk-Thiruvallikeni seat in his poll debut; and sister, Lok Sabha MP Kanimozhi, were among those present.

Election strategist Prashant Kishor, who masterminded the election win, was also present for the swearing-in ceremony of MK Stalin.

Mr Stalin also took oath as Home Minister and will hold other portfolios like administrative and police services, special programmes, and the welfare of differently-abled persons.

At the age of 69, Mr Stalin is the oldest first-time Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. His father and household name in Tamil Nadu late Karunanidhi held the post five times. A seven-time MLA and twice elected as the Mayor of Chennai, today’s swearing in marks the culmination of a nearly 10-year wait.

Mr Stalin, with 33 ministers in his cabinet, has a blend of youth and experience to call on to address these challenges. There are 19 former ministers in the cabinet, but only two women.

DMK leader Duraimurugan – a former minister and six-time MLA from Katpadi- has been appointed as the new Water Resources Minister. The portfolio is critical since the state is frequently hit by drought.

Palanivel Thiagarajan, a former investment banker who worked in the United States, has been given the finance portfolio.

First-time minister MA Subramanian, who is the ex-Chennai Mayor, has been given the health portfolio. The ministry has critical importance in the wake of an ongoing pandemic.

S Regupathy has been given the Law Ministry, Thangam Thennarasu the Industries portfolio, K Ponmudi will be Higher Education Minister, EV Velu will head Public Works and S Muthusamy will be the Housing and Urban Development Minister.

MRK Panneerselvam, a five-term MLA from Kurinjipadi in Cuddalore district, will handle the agriculture ministry, now known as the Agriculture and Farmers’ Welfare Ministry.

The DMK, in an alliance with the Congress, swept the April 6 election, winning 159 of 234 seats. The AIADMK, which was in power, had allied with the BJP but secured only 75 seats.




Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts