HW English
National Politics

GHMC Elections: AIMIM Chief Owaisi, Actor Chiranjeevi Cast Vote

Buoyed by the recent by-election victory in the Dubak seat of the state assembly, the BJP has given full force to the GHMC elections.


Voting for the Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation (GHMC) election began on Tuesday morning. The local level election in Telangana became the talk of the town as BJP brought several top leaders of the party to campaign in the city. Voting for the 150 wards of GHMC began at 7 am and will continue till 6 pm. A total of 74,44,260 voters will be able to exercise the franchise in this election and a total of 1,122 candidates are in the fray.

Union Minister of State for Home Affairs G. Kishan Reddy, acting president of the ruling TRS and Telangana Municipal Administration Minister KT Rama Rao and actor-leader Chiranjeevi exercised their franchise in the morning. Kishan Reddy and Rama Rao appealed to voters to vote. The Telangana State Election Commission (SEC) has deployed 48,000 polling personnel and 52,500 policemen to ensure smooth voting process. After knowing the opinion of the main political parties and the health department regarding the Covid-19 epidemic, the commission decided to hold elections through ballot papers. The Commission has also made special arrangements in the wake of the epidemic. The main contest in the election is between the ruling TRS, the opposition BJP and the Congress. The parties campaigned vigorously for the election.

Buoyed by the recent by-election victory in the Dubak seat of the state assembly, the BJP has given full force to the GHMC elections. Union Home Minister Amit Shah, BJP President JP Nadda, Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, Union Ministers Prakash Javadekar, Smriti Irani and Union Minister of State for Home G Kishan Reddy, who is an MP from Secunderabad, including BJP Youth Front National President Tejasvi Surya Many top leaders campaigned. During the campaign, BJP underlined the alleged alliance of the ruling TRS and AIMIM in the state and appealed to voters to vote for it for transparent governance. However, the TRS denied any alliance with AIMIM.

Municipal Administration Minister KT Rama Rao took over the campaign on behalf of TRS, while the Chief Minister of the state and party supremo K.K. Chandrasekhar Rao also addressed public meetings.

The defeat in the GHMC election may damage the TRS’ image and in the event the opposition can speed up its campaign against the ruling party. The Congress campaign was led by party state president N Uttam Kumar Reddy and executive chairman A Revant Reddy and other senior leaders. The Telugu Desam Party, once powerful in the politics of the state, has once again come into the fray in an attempt to get back the lost land and it mentioned the work done for the development of the city in undivided Andhra Pradesh by then Chief Minister  N. Chandrababu Naidu.

During the campaign, there was a fierce battle between the TRS and BJP leaders. The counting of votes will take place on December 4.

Related posts

Maratha quota: Give whole report to petitioners, High Court tells government


Have ‘achche din’ come? Most will say no’: Shashi Tharoor


How did camaraderie between Modi-Togadia change into hostility?

Shikha Singh