New cabinet in Gujarat, includes two female ministers

Gandhinagar: In an unprecedented move, no ministers in the previous cabinet have been retained and an all-new cabinet was sworn in on Thursday’s oath taking ceremony in Gujarat. After many hardships and ruckus at the Raj Bhavan for eliminating former Gujarat CM Vijay Rupani from the new government, CM Minister Bhupendra Patel’s team of minister on Thursday finally took oath. Among the 24 ministers two are women– Manisha Vakil and Nimisha Suthar.

While there are 10 Cabinet ministers, 14 ministers of state have been inducted into the council of ministers taking the total to 25 including the chief minister.

List of New Minister for the state

Rajendra Trivedi – Ravpura

Jitu Vaghani – Bhavnagar West

Rishikesh Patel – Visnagar

Purnesh Modi – Surat

Raghavji Patel – Jamnagar

Kanu Desai – Pardi

Kiritsinh Rana – Limbdi

Naresh Patel (ST) – Gandevi

Pradip Parmar (SC) – Asarva

Arjunsinh Chauhan – Mehmdavad

Ministers of State (Independent Charge)

Harsh Sanghvi – Majura

Jagdish Panchal – Nikol

Brijesh Merja – Morbi

Jitu Chaudhary (ST) – Kaprada

Manisha Vakil (SC) – Vadodara City

Ministers of State

Mukesh Patel – Olpad

Nimisha Suthar (ST) – Motvahadaf

Arvind Raiyani – Rajkot (East)

Kuber Dindor (ST) – Santrampur

Kirtisinh Vaghela – Kankrej

Gajendra Parmar – Prantij

Raghavji Makwana – Mahuva

Vinod Moradia – Katargam

New Assembly Speaker

Nimaben Bhaveshbhai Acharya has been made Gujarat Assembly Speaker after Rajendra Trivedi resigned from the post and was inducted into the new cabinet.

No Repetition experiment

On Wednesday, BJP apparently decided to replace all 23 members of the erstwhile Vijay Rupani cabinet with younger faces. The party is said to be following the “no-repeat experiment”. According to reports, several ministers are upset as they were “informed over the phone that they wouldn’t be retained” in accordance with the “no-repeat” formula. Senior party leaders said that the outgoing minister would be “placated before a fresh cabinet takes guard”.

Reason for oath delay

The oath ceremony of the new cabinet of Gujarat Chief Minister Bhupendra Patel — slated to be held on Wednesday — was deferred at the last minute after elaborate arrangements were made at the Governor’s house and large hoardings were put up. NDTV sources had indicated that differences over the new council of ministers were the reason for the sudden rescheduling.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts