HW English
Madras High Court; TRAI

Madras High Court upholds disqualification of 18 AIADMK MLAs

Chennai | The Madras High Court on Thursday upheld the Tamil Nadu Assembly speaker’s decision of disqualification of 18 AIADMK MLAs. Justice M Sathyanarayanan dismissed the writ petitions filed by 18 AIADMK MLAs challenging their September 2017 disqualification.

18 MLAs of the AIADMK party were disqualified by speaker P Dhanapal in September 2017 for extending support to TTV Dinakaran and defying Chief Minister K Palaniswami with a motive to pull down AIADMK government in Tamil Nadu. Earlier the Madras High Court bench in June had given a split decision on petitions challenging the disqualification of these MLAs.

Responding to the decision, TTV Dinakaran while addressing the media said, “It is not a setback for us. This is an experience, we will face the situation. The future course of action will be decided after meeting with the 18 MLAs.”


Related posts

The sole witness in Bhima-Koregaon case found dead in a mysterious circumstance

News Desk

Rajasthan govt panel recommends waiving all loans of farmers who committed suicide


CJI Ranjan Gogoi free of sexual harassment charges

News Desk