Opposition Parties Walk Out From Rajya Sabha Amid Suspension Of 12 MPs

New Delhi : The Centre and the opposition parties gathered on Tuesday for the second day of Parliament’s Winter Session after a dramatic opening on Monday. Utter chaos was witnessed in the Upper House of the Parliament again as Rajya Sabha chairman Venkaiah Naidu rejected the request by opposition leaders to revoke the suspension of 12 Rajya Sabha MPs. Parties such as the Congress, NCP, DMK, SP, Left, RJD, AAP walked out of the Rajya Sabha in protest over suspension of 12 MPs. TMC, however, didn’t walk out.

Meanwhile Lok Sabha has been adjourned till 2 PM.

After walking out of Rajya Sabha, opposition parties will now hold another meeting at Leader of Opposition Mallickarjun Kharge’s office to take a further decision.

The opposition parties are Protesting near the statue of Mahatma Gandhi demanding revocation of suspension of 12 Opposition MPs of Rajya Sabha.

On Tuesday morning, Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu said that the suspension of the 12 MPs wont be lifted. The 12 MPs were suspended for “misbehavior” related to the events of August 11 last day of previous Parliament session.

The suspension of the 12 opposition MPs won’t be revoked as “they haven’t expressed remorse”, Rajya Sabha Chairman Venkaiah Naidu told the House on November 30. “Suspended MPs have not expressed remorse. I am not considering the appeal of Leader of Opposition. Suspension will not be revoked,” he said.

The 16 parties said that if the contentious suspension – which they have argued is against parliamentary laws, since the rules do not allow for punishments to be carried over into following sessions – is not revoked, they intend to boycott today’s session of the Rajya Sabha.

The 16 parties are the Congress, Tamil Nadu’s ruling DMK as well as the MDMK, the Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Party, the CPM and CPI, the Rashtriya Janata Dal, the Indian Union Muslim League, the LJD, Jammu and Kashmir’s National Conference, the RSP, Telangana’s ruling TRS, the Kerala Congress, the Aam Aadmi Party, and the VCK.

Some Opposition parties looking to boycott entire winter session, Congress unwilling: Sources

According to sources, some opposition parties want to boycott the entire Winter Session of Parliament over the suspension of 12 MPs in Rajya Sabha. The Congress is not so keen on boycott as it would give free run to the government.

80 members of Treasury bench should have been suspended: Derek O’ Brien

TMC MP Derek O’ Brien on suspension of 12 Opposition MPs in Rajya Sabha: “We all want Parliament to run, we want issues to be brought up. The Opposition was compelled to do what they did. We should have maintained the dignity of the House.”

“80 members of Treasury bench should have been suspended,” he added.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts