Rajya Sabha Election: BJP now has ‘Upper Hand’ in the Upper House

All the eight Rajya Sabha candidates of BJP including Finance Minister Arun Jaitley won while SP’s Jaya Bachchan too won.


Recovering from the humiliating loss in Gorakhpur and Phulpur Lok Sabha bypoll, the BJP on Friday was all smiles when it won more than 10 seats in Rajya Sabha election. The polling for 58 seats being vacated this month in Rajya Sabha was concluded yesterday. While BJP’s bid was to increase its numbers in the upper house where Congress so far had the majority of the members, the opposition, on the other hand, was trying to defend its existing seat.

While BJP backed Independent Rajya Sabha candidate Rajeev Chandrashekhar won comfortably from Karnataka, all the three candidates fielded by Congress from the state won too. From West Bengal, Congress’s Abhishek Manu Sanghavi won with the support of TMC.

However, it was Uttar Pradesh which saw a high voltage showdown between the ruling BJP and opposition alliance SP-BSP and Congress. After the big bypoll win, all eyes were on two Rajya Sabha candidates fielded by SP(Jaya Bachchan) and BSP(Bhimrao Ambedkar). Till late evening the results were clear. All the eight candidates of BJP including Finance Minister Arun Jaitley won while SP’s Jaya Bachchan too won. It was BSP’s Rajya Sabha candidate Bhimrao Ambedkar who was contesting against BJP’s ninth candidate. Until the second round of counting got over, the path for BJP to become the largest party in the Rajya Sabha was clear.

In a press conference conducted after the win UP, CM Yogi Adityanath took a dig at the alliance said, “SP only knows how to take but never gives back the favour.” He also said that people got to see the opportunistic face of SP during the Rajya Sabha election.

SP, on the other hand, hit back at BJP saying the votes of SP MLAs were with the BSP and accused BJP of indulging in cross-voting.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts