Headlines HW Shorts APP National News Politics

BJP Shuffles Lok Sabha Lineup, Replaces 33 MPs

BJP Shuffles Lok Sabha Lineup, Replaces 33 MPs

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has significantly changed its roster for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, replacing 33 sitting Members of Parliament (MPs) with fresh faces. The party’s initial list of candidates, released recently, showcases notable alterations across various states, signalling a strategic overhaul in its electoral strategy.

Notable Changes Across States:

Assam: The BJP introduced five new candidates while retaining six sitting MPs. Notable replacements include Parimal Suklabaidhya for Rajdeep Roy in the Silchar constituency and Amar Singh Tisso for Horen Singh Bey in the Autonomous District (ST) seat. Union Minister Sarbanand Sonowal will also contest from Dibrugarh, replacing Rameswar Teli.

Chhattisgarh: Four new faces have been introduced in Chattisgarh, with Brijmohan Agrawal taking over the Raipur seat from Sunil Kumar Soni. Other changes include Kamlesh Jangde replacing Guharam Ajgalley in Janjgir Champa (SC) and Roop Kumari Choudhary contesting from Mahasamund instead of Chunni Lal Sahu. Bhojraj Nag has been nominated for the Kanker (ST) seat, replacing Mohan Mandavi.

Delhi: The Delhi lineup witnesses replacements for four sitting MPs, including excluding former Union Minister Harsh Vardhan from Chandani Chowk in favour of Praveen Khandelwal. Bansuri Swaraj, daughter of late BJP leader Sushma Swaraj, has been named the candidate for New Delhi, replacing Union Minister Meenakshi Lekhi. Kamaljeet Sehrawat has taken over the West Delhi seat from Parvesh Sahib Singh Verma, while Ramvir Singh Bidhuri will contest from South Delhi instead of Ramesh Biduri.

Gujarat: Five sitting MPs have been replaced in Gujarat, with Rekhaben Hiteshbhai Choudhary contesting from Banaskantha instead of Prabhatbhai Savabhai Patel. Kirit Solanki has been replaced by Dineshbhai Kidarbhai Makwana in Ahmedabad West (SC), and Parshottam Rupala will contest from Rajkot instead of Mohanbhai Kalyanji Kundariya. Mansukh Mandaviya will represent Porbandar, replacing Rameshbhai Lavjibhai Dhaduk, while Rajpalsingh Mahendrasinh Jadhav will contest from Panchmahal, taking over from Ratansinh Magansinh Rathod.

ALSO READ: TMC Open To Alliance With Congress For Lok Sabha Polls?

Jharkhand: Manish Jaiswal will contest from Hazaribagh, replacing former Union Minister Jayant Sinha. Additionally, Samir Oraon has replaced Sudarshan Bhagat in Lohardaga (ST).

Madhya Pradesh: Seven new faces have been introduced in Madhya Pradesh, with notable changes including Jyotiraditya Scindia replacing Krishnapal Singh Yadav in Guna and former Chief Minister Shivraj Singh Chouhan contesting from Vidisha instead of Ramakant Bhargava. Lata Wankhede will contest from Sagar, and Alok Sharma has been nominated for Bhopal.

Rajasthan: The BJP has replaced five sitting MPs in Rajasthan, introducing new candidates for various constituencies, including Churu, Bharatpur, Jalore, Udaipur, and Banswara.

Tripura: Biplab Kumar Deb has been nominated for the Tripura West seat, replacing Pratima Bhoumik.

West Bengal: In West Bengal, John Barla was replaced by Manoj Tigga for the Alipurduar seat.

With these significant changes in its Lok Sabha lineup, the BJP aims to strengthen its electoral prospects and adapt to the evolving political landscape. As the country gears up for the upcoming elections, the BJP’s strategic manoeuvring reflects its determination to secure a favourable outcome at the polls.


Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts