HW English

Bihar: NDA shares its seat-sharing formula for 2019 elections

Patna | The BJP-led National Democratic Alliance (NDA) on Thursday finalised its seat-sharing formula in Bihar for the upcoming 2019 general elections.

According to sources, the Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) will be contesting on 20 seats, Ram Vilas Paswan’s  Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) will contest on 6 seats, Upendra Kushwaha’s  Rashtriya Lok Samta Party will contest on 2 seats. While Nitish Kumar’s Janta Dal-United (JDU) will contest on 12 seats. Sources further added that BJP may give one Lok Sabha seat each to the JDU in Uttar Pradesh and Jharkhand.

In the last Lok Sabha election, BJP emerged victorious on 22 seats in the 40 seat Bihar assembly, its ally LJP got 6 seats while the RJSP got 3 seats. JDU who contest alone after its breakup with NDA got just 2 seats.

The seat-sharing formula is said to be finalised in consultation with BJP president Amit Shah and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar during his last meeting to Bihar. Speaking on the rumours of seat share formula, JDU leaders said that the sharing was neither fair nor ‘honourable’. Speaking to media a leader said, “Even BJP knows it is not acceptable, there should be equitable distribution between the two parties. Each should get 17 seats, and Ram Vilas Paswan should get the remaining six.”

Related posts

Give us Bodoland or lose people’s support in 2019: Bodo organisations to BJP


P Chidambaram questions Indian railways management, calls it ‘comprehensive’ failure’

News Desk

Nitin Gadkari claims Congress workers in Nagpur support him