News Politics

BJP releases first list of 182 candidates for Lok Sabha election; PM Modi to contest from Varanasi, Amit Shah from Gandhinagar

New Delhi | The Bhartiya Janata Party today announced its first list of 182 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha election.

According to the announced list Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be contesting from Uttar Pradesh’s Varanasi while BJP president Amit Shah will contest from Gujarat’s Gandhinagar seat.

Addressing the press conference BJP general seceratry JP Nadda announced that PM Modi will contest from Varanasi, Amit Shah from Gandhinagar, Union Minister Nitin Gadkari from Nagpur, Home minister Rajnath Singh from Lucknow, Smriti Irani from Amethi, former Army General VK Singh from Gaziabad.

Union Minister Satypal Singh will be contesting from Uttar Pradesh’s Bagpat. Kiren Rijuju from Arunachal West, K Rajasekharam from Thiruvananthapuram, Sakshi Maharaj from Unnao, Rajvardhan Singh Raghore from Jaipur, Arjun Meghwal from Bikaner.

Ananth Hegde will contest from Karnataka’s Uttar Kananda, Sadananda Gowda from Bengaluru North, Ponam Mahajan from North Central Mumbai, Subhash Bhamre from Dhule, Hansraj Ahir from Chandrapur and Gopal Shetty from North Mumbai

Speaking on the candidates from West Bengal JP Nadda announced that Union Minister Babul Supriyo will contest from Asanasol, Rahul Sinha from Kolkata North, CK Bose from Kolkata South.

On 4 seats of Jammu and Kashmir, BJP has field Jugal Kishore from Jammu, Jitendra Singh from Udhampur, Sofi Yousuf from Anantnag and Khalid Jehangir from Srinagar.

Intrestingly veteran leaders like LK Advani and Murli Manohar Joshi’s names have been dropped from the list. Advani has been replaced by BJP president Amit Shah while Joshi’s constituency is yet to be announced.

BJP has finalised names of all 17 party candidates from Bihar and sent the list to the state unit which will announce it jointly with allies, Nadda said.

Lok Sabha elections will begin on April 11 and continue for over a month till May 19 across seven phases, followed by counting of votes on May 23.

The polling will be held on April 11, April 18, April 23, April 29, May 6, May 12 and May 19 for 543 Lok Sabha seats across the country in which nearly 90 crore voters would be eligible to vote.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts