Mood Delhi

Delhi Elections 2020: Long Voter Queues At Shaheen Bagh, Epicentre Of CAA Protests

Election campaign was highly polarised with debate centred around the centre of CAA protests in New Delhi between AAP, BJP and Congress leaders.

New Delhi| Shaheen Bagh falls in the Okhla constituency and is a minority-dominated area, which became the nucleus of the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) versus BJP battle for the Delhi election.

Security forces kept a tight watch across all the five polling stations in Shaheen Bagh, which have been declared “critical” amid two incidents of shooting in the area within a week.

With regards to Delhi elections, the Election Commission has marked 5 polling centres of Shaheen Bagh as highly sensitive. Forty booths under these polling centres are in the critical category, which means special security arrangements have been made for them.

AAP’s Amanatullah Khan is the MLA from the area and the party’s candidate. He faces Congress’s Parvez Hashmi and BJP’s Brahm Singh Bidhuri.

The Saffron party, which has been out of power in Delhi for two decades, went all out in their remarks against Shaheen Bagh, with Home Minister Amit Shah urging voters to “push the button” of the Electronic Voting Machine so hard that the “current was felt in Shaheen Bagh”.

Several other BJP leaders have made controversial remarks on Shaheen Bagh during the election campaign.

Shaheen Bagh has become historic and there is a huge challenge for the Election Commission and Delhi Police to conduct free and fair elections in this area.

Also Read: Watch: Right wing YouTuber Gunja Kapoor caught in burqa at Shaheen Bagh

Delhi is voting for the assembly elections today. There are 70 assembly constituencies in Delhi. As many as 1.47 crore voters will exercise their franchise. While Aam Adami Party, Congress and BJP remain the three major parties, together all the political parties have fielded 672 candidates. The election campaign for this assembly election remained high-pitched and bitter as Shaheen Bagh and Anti-CAA Protests dominated the narrative.

In 2015, AAP which was the new party had won whopping 67 seats. 3 were won by BJP and congress faced a rout. Subsequently, in the MCD polls, BJP had a resounding victory. Even in 2019 Assembly elections, BJP bagged all the seven seats. Will the AAP repeat 2015 performance or BJP continues its winning streak in Delhi that remains to be seen.
Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts