HW English
reddy; kumaraswamy Karnataka

Karnataka Trust Vote delayed; likely to happen on Monday

Bengaluru | The HD Kumaraswamy led Congress-JDS government has found a relief today after the speaker went pass the governor’s deadline for the Trust vote and adjourned the assembly till 3 pm today.

Adjourning the house till 3 pm the speaker said, “The Governor’s order has to be followed or not will be decided by Chief Minister because the letter was sent to him, so he has to decide.”

Chief Minister HD Kumaraswamy speaking during the trust vote debate alleged that the opposition BJP is trying to destroy democracy in the state. He said, “I have given funds to all of your districts. But you(BJP) say I am the CM of only two-three districts. That is why I am saying there should not be any hurry, let us discuss it. You are trying to destroy democracy.”

Also Read: Protesting the floor test, Karnataka BJP MLAs sleep on Vidhan Soudha floor

Former Chief Minister and Congress leader Siddaramaiah during the debate said, “The discussion is still not complete and 20 members are yet to participate. I don’t think it will finish today and it will continue on Monday also.”

Karnataka Governor Vajubhai Vala had set a deadline to decide the fate of HD Kumaraswamy led Congress-JDS government till 1.30 pm today after the assembly speaker adjourned the house on Thursday.

Governer Valla’s deadline has come after a group of the  BJP delegation met him demanding that the trust vote should be conducted on Thursday itself. However, he refused to the demand and rather wrote to the Chief Minister and Assembly speaker setting up a deadline till 1.30 pm. Protesting against the adjournment of the house, as a mark of protest the BJP MLAs including former Chief Minister  BS Yeddyurappa slept in the state assembly itself overnight.

In the last few weeks 16 MLAs — 13 from the Congress and three from JD(S) — have resigned, two independent MLAs S Shankar and H Nagesh have withdrawn their support to the coalition government.

Also Watch: DK Shivakumar detained, Congress alleges BJP govt misusing power

The ruling coalition’s strength in the House is 117– Congress 78, JD(S) 37, BSP 1, and nominated 1, besides the Speaker. With the support of the two independents, the opposition BJP has 107 MLAs in the 225-member House, including the nominated MLA and Speaker.

If the resignations of the 16 MLAs are accepted or if they are not present in the House, the ruling coalition’s tally will be reduced to 101.

Related posts

On Valentine’s days Bajrang Dal chases away couples near Sabarmati river front

News Desk

Goa mining crisis will be resolved much before LS polls: BJP


#Watch: Congress leader argues with Mumbai Police over Karnataka crisis

News Desk