HW English

Mayors of Jammu and Srinagar to be inducted as Ministers of State

Srinagar | Mayors of Srinagar and Jammu civic bodies will be granted a status almost equal to the Ministers of State, according to official reports.

The order issued by Additional Secretary Subash Chhibber on August 20 said the necessary arranagements will be made after approval of relevant authorities.

Also Read Article 370: Pakistan govt to raise the issue before ICJ

“Sanction is hereby accorded to the grant of status equivalent to Minister of State (MoS) to the Mayors of SMC (Srinagar Municipal Corporation) and JMC (Jammu Municipal Corporation) within their territorial jurisdiction,” the order said.

People’s Conference leader Junaid Mattu and BJP leader Chander Mohan Gupta are the Mayors of SMC and JMC, respectively.

The Modi government on August 5 bifurcated the state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories: J&K and Ladakh.

Related posts

Asaduddin Owaisi condemns attack on Kashmiris in Lucknow


BJP promises to end Naxalism, Communalism, Castism and Terrorism till 2022

News Desk

“I have no problem if you do not vote for me”, Varun Gandhi tells Muslims

News Desk