HW English

Rajasthan: Congress wins Ramgarh bypolls by 12,228 votes

Jaipur | Congress candidate  Shafia Zubair on Thursday won the Ramgarh bypolls with over 12,228 votes taking Congress’ tally of MLAs to 100 in the 200 seat Rajasthan Assembly.

Congress’ Shafia Zubair got 83311 votes in compared to BJP’s Sukhwant Singh’s who received 71083 votes. BSP’s Jagat Singh got 24856 votes.

As many as 20 candidates contested the Ramgarh election on January 28. The election to the assembly seat could not be held along with other constituencies due to the death of the BSP candidate ahead of December 7 Rajasthan elections.

In the recently concluded assembly elections in Rajasthan, the Congress party emerged as the single largest party with 99 seats and formed the government with external support of Samajwadi Party, Bahujan Samaj Party and Independent MLAs. Ashok Gehlot took oath as the Chief Minister of the state while Sachin Pilot took oath as his deputy.


Related posts

Rajasthan government to increase grant for cow shelters: Ashok Gehlot


$444 Billion Lost As World’s Richest Face Wrath of Coronavirus

Tejas Joshi

TMC removes Congress’s name from its logo