News Report

Is BRS insulting women in Telangana ?

The former Deputy Chief Minister of Telangana, Thatikonda Rajaiah, got emotional and broke down in front of his supporters in Jangaon. He wasn’t given a ticket from the Ghanpur area for the upcoming elections, even though he is a current Member of the Legislative Assembly (MLA) from there. The leader of Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), K Chandrasekhar Rao, who is also the Chief Minister of Telangana, decided to let another senior leader named Kadiyam Srihari run from that area. It’s not just Thatikonda Rajaiah who was affected. Nine other MLAs from Bharat Rashtra Samithi were also not given tickets for the upcoming elections in Telangana. The party said it will be running in the elections on its own. In certain constituencies like Ghanpur, Khanapur, Boath, Vemulawada, Wyra, Asifabad, Korutla, Uppal, and Kamareddy (where KCR is contesting), new candidates are being chosen. For example, Kova Lakshmi, who lost in the previous election from Asifabad, will run instead of Athram Sakku, who previously won as a Congress candidate but later joined BRS along with 12 other Congress MLAs. Kova Lakshmi won in 2014 but lost in 2018. In Khanapur, Bhukya Johnson Rathod Naik, who is close to a current cabinet minister, K.T. Rama Rao, will run instead of A. Rekha Naik. In the Boath area, Anil Jadhav, who is a member of the Neeradigonda Zilla Praja Parishad Territorial Constituency (ZPTC), will run instead of Bapu Rao Rathod, who was the sitting MLA. Rathod had not been attending BRS meetings for a while, and local leaders had complained about him to the Chief Minister. In Uppal, Bandaru Lakshma Reddy will run instead of the current MLA Bethi Subhash Reddy. Bonthu Ram Mohan, a former mayor and close to KTR, didn’t get a ticket. In Korutla, the sitting MLA Kalvakuntla Vidyasagar Rao requested a ticket for his son, K. Sanjay Kumar, and it was accepted. T. Rajaiah, who was the sitting MLA of Station Ghanpur, lost his position due to accusations of sexual harassment, and Kadiyam Srihari was chosen instead. Ramesh Chennamaneni, the sitting MLA from Vemulawada, was replaced by Chalmeda Lakshmi Narasimha Rao. KCR explained that while Chennamaneni was a good leader, concerns about his citizenship led to this change. L. Ramulu Naik, who won as an independent candidate from the ST-reserved Wyra constituency and later joined BRS, didn’t get a ticket. Instead, Banoth Madanlal will run. In Kamareddy, Gampa Govardhan had to leave his seat because KCR decided to run from there himself. KCR said Reasons like allegations against the sitting MLAs, their poor performance, and MLAs requesting tickets for their family members are the reasons for these changes. Furthermore, the lack of significant representation of women in the initial list of assembly election candidates presented by the Bharat Rashtra Samithi (BRS), the ruling party in Telangana, has caused contention among the various parties. As soon as the list was revealed, containing only seven women out of a total of 115 candidates, opposition parties swiftly highlighted the irony. K Kavitha, a BRS MLC and the daughter of Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, had previously staged a protest in Delhi demanding a 33% reservation of seats in legislative assemblies for women. However, when her own party’s candidate list featured a low number of women, she faced criticism from the BJP, Congress, and YSRTP. Rani Rudrama, a spokesperson from the BJP, commented, “”The fact that the BRS party neglected women in its list indicates that Kavitha’s protests in Delhi for a 33% reservation for women in Parliament were mere theatrics.”” Similarly, G Kishan Reddy, the Telangana BJP president, posted on the social media platform X: “”The drama created by Bangaru Kutumbam family members at Jantar Mantar demanding 33% reservation for women in Parliament. In Bangaru Kutumbam Mathematics, this resulted in the BRS party allocating only 6 out of 115 seats for women candidates.”” Women leaders from the Congress held a press conference where they alleged that Kavitha’s actions at Jantar Mantar were an attempt to divert attention from her involvement in the Delhi liquor scam, in which she is named as an accused.

#BRS #Telangana #KCR #KKavitha #LokSabhaElections2024 #TelanganaElections #KChandrasekharRao #MLAs #Ticket #ThatikondaRajaiah #JantarMantar #YSRTP #Congress #BJP

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts