HW English
pragya thakur
Election 2019

BJP announces Sadhvi Pragya Thakur’s candidature from Bhopal against Digvijaya Singh

New Delhi | The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) today announced that Malegaon Blast accused Sadhvi Pragya Thakur will be contesting from Madhya Pradesh’s Bhopal constituency against Veteran Congress leader Digvijaya Singh.

In an issued statement, BJP announced that Pragya Thakur will contest from Bhopal along with the candidature of K.P Yadav from Guna against Congress’ Jyotiraditya Scindia, Rajbahadur Singh from Sagar Constituency, Ramakandt Bhargava from Vidisha constituency.

Sadhvi Pragya Thakur earlier today after joining the Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP) said,” I have formally joined BJP, I will contest elections and will win also.” Reports of Thakur to contest from Bhopal arised after senior BJP leaders like Narendra Singh Tomar, Shivraj Singh Chouhan and Uma Bharti refused to contest from the Bhopal seat.

The contest between both the candidates will heat up the election in Bhopal as Digvijaya in the past had often alleged the BJP for promoting saffron terror as Thakur was a key accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast where 6 people were killed and more than 100 were injured.

Pragya Thakur is a key accused in the 2008 Malegaon blast case and Thakur has been charged for being a part of a terror act under the Unlawful Activities Prevention Act (UAPA). She is out on bail but has not been discharged by the NIA COURT hearing the case.


Related posts

Exit polls will prove false, SP-BSP to win 60 seats in Uttar Pradesh: Sanjay Singh

News Desk

Congress responsible for lowering political discourse: Rajnath Singh


Mamata Banerjee has crossed all limits: Sushma Swaraj

News Desk