Politicans Poll: Mahagatbadhan wave dents BJP’s Uttar Pradesh dream

Politicans Poll: Mahagatbadhan wave dents BJP’s Uttar Pradesh dream

The state of Uttar Pradesh is the biggest and most important when comes to sending representatives to the Lower House of Parliament. 80 MPs get elected from Uttar Pradesh which makes it the ground of all major political battles.

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, NDA won 73 seats in Uttar Pradesh with BJP itself winning 71 seats in the state. The next biggest party was Samajwadi Party which won 5 seats while the Congress party was only restricted to 2 seats. Mayawati’s Bahujan Samaj Party( BSP) failed to win even a single seat in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections.

The Lok Sabha performance helped BJP in the 2017 assembly polls when it formed its government under Yogi Adityanath, winning 325 seats. To stop BJP from repeating its 2014 performance, arch rivals SP-BSP joined hands and announced to contest the 2019 polls together. Out of 80 seats in Uttar Pradesh, The Mahagatbahan comprising of Samajwadi Party is contesting on 38 seat, Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) is contesting on 39 seats, RLD is contesting on 3 seats. The grand alliance had also decided not contest on the 2 seats of Rae Bareli and Amethi.

According to the Politicians Poll conducted by HW NEWS, the Mahgatbadhan as been successful in stopping the BJP from repeating its 2014 success in Uttar Pradesh. Politicians Poll predicts that Mahagatbadhan will be getting 35 seats which include SP’s 15 and BSP’s 20 seats. BJP will get nearly half of his previous seats getting 40 seats this time. The Congress party is likely to get 5 seats, 3 more than its 2014’s tally.

Next Story
Share it
To Top