Bypolls: RJD, TMC Deal Blow To BJP In Bihar & WB, Congress Leads In Chattisgarh

New Delhi: The counting of votes for the bypolls to one Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal’s Asansol and four Assembly seats in Ballygunge in Bengal, Khairagarh in Chhattisgarh, Bochahan in Bihar and Kolhapur North in Maharashtra began from 8 am on Saturday. In Chhattisgarh’s Khairagarh, the bypoll was necessitated due to the death of Janata Congress Chhattisgarh (J) MLA Devvrat Singh.

From Bihar, Rashtriya Janata Dal is claiming win from Bihar. Taking to twitter RJD Siwan tweeted, “Gratitude to the great people of Bochha. Congratulations to all for victory against Narendra Modi’s divisive policies and against Chief Minister’s corrupt policies. Now the day is not far when the Chief Minister of the people @yadavtejashwi Ji will take charge of the state.”

The RJD has claimed win in Bihar’s Bochahan constituency. As per EC’s latest trends, RJD has 48.5% votes, while the BJP is trailing with 27% votes.

From West Bengal, Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee  took to twitter to thank voters. She tweeted, “I sincerely thank the electors of the Asansol Parliamentary Constituency and the Ballygunge Assembly Constituency for giving decisive mandate to AITC party candidates.”

Trinamool candidate Shatrughan Sinha is leading in Asansol with more than 260,000 votes. BJP candidate Agnimitra Pal is gradually falling behind.

AITMC candidate Babul Supriyo wins the Ballygunge bypoll beating the nearest Left Front competitor Saira Shah Halim by 20038 votes. After the final round of counting Supriyo has got 50722 votes. Halim received 30818 votes while BJP’s Keya Ghosh came third with 12967 votes.

BJP has accepted defeat from Bengal. “There were some shortcomings from our end because of which we had to face defeat. Public’s verdict will be accepted. Few cases of rigging were seen at some places but central forces worked really well. We’ll work at grassroots levels in the forthcoming days,” BJP MLA Agnimitra Paul said.

Till 1 PM, in Chhattisgarh’s Khairagarh, BJP’s Komal Janghel is over 10,000 votes behind the ruling Congress’ Yashoda Nilamber Verma, who has more than 37,000 votes so far.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts