National Politics

Uddhav Thackeray To Approach Smaller Parties Ahead Of Rajya Sabha Polls

A candidate needs 42 votes to win a Rajya Sabha seat.

Maharastra Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray will be scheduling a series of meetings on Monday with smaller parties and independents ahead of the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections, which are set to be held on June 10th.

He will be meeting senior leaders of the Maha Vikas Aghadi coalition today evening before a big meeting of all the coalition MLAs tomorrow.

Mr. Thackeray’s Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), and the Congress are expected to move all their MLAs to different hotels in Mumbai on Tuesday evening, to protect their votes in the Rajya Sabha election.

All the MLAs of the Shiv Sena (55), NCP (52), and Congress (44) will be sequestered till the vote. Two NCP MLAs – Anil Deshmukh and minister Nawab Malik – are currently in jail, so one seat is vacant.

Elections will be held for six Rajya Sabha seats in Maharashtra. A candidate needs 42 votes to win a Rajya Sabha seat.

The BJP has fielded Union minister Piyush Goyal, Anil Bonde, and former MP Dhananjay Mahadik, while Shiv Sena has put up two candidates – Sanjay Raut and Sanjay Pawar. NCP has renominated Senior leader Praful Patel, while Congress has fielded Imran Pratapgarhi.

Apart from the BJP, NCP, and CONG, the Assembly has 25 MLAs from smaller parties and Independents.



Related posts