Yogi Adityanath To Fight Elections From Ayodhya?

Lucknow: At the headquarters of BJP the meeting of Bhartiya Janta Party’s Central Election Committee, is currently having a meeting, foe finalizing candidates for the upcoming assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh.

The meeting will be attended by, Union Ministers Amit Shah, Anurag Thakur, Dharmendra Pradhan, and Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath. Prime Minister Narendra Modi, BJP chief JP Nadda and Defence Minister Rajnath Singh will be joining the meeting virtually. 

The seat sharing formula between BJP and its allies has also been decided. According to information received from sources, Apna Dal will get 14 seats and Nishad Party will get 17 seats. In the remaining seats, BJP will field its candidates.

Amid defections by sitting BJP MLAs, the party is considering fielding Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath, who announced earlier that he would contest the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections, from Ayodhya.

After the CEC meeting, the BJP may announce the seat from where Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath will contest the election, according to sources.

This comes after marathon back-to-back meetings of the core committee where the names of candidates were discussed for the first few phases of the Uttar Pradesh elections.

In Tuesday’s meeting, Apna Dal was demanding 25 seats and Nishad Party 30 seats. But in the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah, now the formula has been decided to give 14 seats to Apna Dal and 17 to Nishad Party. Apna Dal was given 11 seats in the last assembly elections, but this time 14 seats have been given.

The voting for 403 assembly seats of Uttar Pradesh will be done in seven phases starting from February 10. Voting will be held in UP in seven phases on 10, 14, 20, 23, 27 and March 3 and 7. While the counting of votes will take place on March 10. The Election Commission has not allowed any political rallies and road shows till January 15 for the assembly elections in UP, Punjab, Goa, Manipur and Uttarakhand in view of Corona.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts