HW English
CJI Bobde

CJI Ranjan Gogoi retires, Justice SA Bobde sworn in as 47th Chief Justice of India

In April 2013, Justice Bobde was appointed to the Supreme Court. He was in the committee set up to investigate charges of sexual harassment against former CJI.


New Delhi| Justice Sharad Arvind Bobde was sworn in as the 47th Chief Justice of the Supreme Court on Monday. He replaced Chief Justice Ranjan Gogoi, who retired on 17 November. Justice Bobde’s term will last for 17 months. He will retire on 23 April 2021. President Ramnath Kovind administered the oath to him.

Also Read: “I don’t want to stoop so low as to answer these charges,” CJI Gogoi on sexual assault allegations

Justice Bobde was born on 24 April 1956 in Nagpur, Maharashtra. He obtained a law degree from Nagpur University. He was then appointed as Additional Judge of the Bombay High Court in 2000. In 2012, he held the post of Chief Justice of Madhya Pradesh High Court. In April 2013, he was appointed to the Supreme Court. Justice Bobde was involved in the committee set up to investigate allegations of sexual harassment against former CJI Ranjan Gogoi.

Justice Bobde is fond of bike riding

Those close to Justice Bobde say that he is a very friendly and soft-spoken person. He loves bike riding and dogs. He likes to read books in free time. He leads a simple life at home.

The tenure of the former CJI was 13 months and 15 days.

Former Chief Justice Gogoi was sworn in as the 46th Chief Justice on 3 October 2018. His tenure was 13 months and 15 days. Justice Gogoi visited Kamakhya Devi temple twice during his tenure. He gave a historic verdict on the Ayodhya dispute. he dismissed the Rafale review petitions. He also gave out some other important verdicts including bringing the office of CJI under the purview of RTI.

Related posts

Delhi To Conduct Virus Test On Journalists As 53 Test Positive In Mumbai

Maneesha Chaturvedi

Naxal attack: Rajnath Singh assures Maharashtra all assistance

Anil Rajpurohit

Watch: ‘Goli Maaro Saalon Ko’ slogans raised by Junior Finance Minister Anurag Thakur

News Desk