HW English

Maharashtra government declares drought in 180 talukas; launch 8 schemes for affected regions


Mumbai | The Devendra Fadnavis-led Maharashtra government on Tuesday declared 180 out of 700 talukas in Maharashtra as drought prone.

The 180 talukas in the state include 700 villages which are affected by the scarcity of rains. The government has also announced 8 schemes to regarding this. Addressing the media, CM Fadnavis said,”Today we have declared drought in 180 divisions (tehsil) across the state. The state government will implement 8 schemes to deal with it. We will send a report to the Centre on that basis, a team from Center will come here and announce funds”.

The affected regions include Marathwada, Vidharbha and northern Maharashtra. The control the situation the government has issued various orders on drinking water measures, children’s school fees rebate, settlement of farmers’ debt and the continuation of power connections for agriculture.

Related posts

IAF chopper crash in JK, death toll reaches 5


Veteran BJP leader Yashwant Sinha launches “Rashtriya Manch”

News Desk

Abolish practice of confessions in churches: NCW