HW English

Parliament’s monsoon session to be held from July 18

The monsoon session of Parliament will be held from July 18 to August 10, Parliamentary Affairs Minister Ananth Kumar said on Monday. The session will comprise of 18 working days.

The previous Parliamentary session – the budget session in April – was mostly a washout. During that session, the Lok Sabha (LS) spent just 1% of its allotted time on legislative business even as the Rajya Sabha (RS) spent 6%. The actual hours that the Houses sat as against those available was 21% for the LS and 27% for the RS. In all, 250 hours were wasted while issues like the PNB scam and alleged dilution of the SC/ST Act couldn’t come up for discussion.

The government plans to pass the Constitution (123rd) Amendment Bill, 2017 that seeks to accord constitutional status to the National Commission for Backward Classes (NCBC). “Other important Bills, including the Triple Talaq bill and the Transgender Bill, among others, will be brought in Parliament for passing them,” Mr. Kumar said, adding that the government expected constructive cooperation from all political parties for a productive session.

According to PRS legislative research, the last Parliamentary session was the least productive budget session since 2000. The Upper House spent only three minutes on government bills while it was 14 minutes for the Lower House.

HW News Live TV

Related posts

WATCH: A Lake Formed At Nalda Village As Major Landslide Blocks Flow Of Chenab River

Sherine Raj

Test tube baby-like technique existed during days of Ramayana: UP Deputy CM


Congress working committee meeting begins, decision for election for chief likely

Sonu Kanojia