Headlines HW Shorts APP National News Politics

BJP Dominates 12 States, Congress 3: Mapping India’s 2024 Electoral Route

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, alongside BJP National President JP Nadda, arrives to partake in the festivities following the party’s triumph in the assembly elections of Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, and Chhattisgarh at the BJP headquarters in New Delhi on Sunday, December 3, 2023.

The BJP’s impressive victory in the assembly elections has significantly expanded its political footprint, now governing 12 out of India’s 28 states. Conversely, the Congress party is now limited to only three states: Telangana, where it secured a recent victory, along with Karnataka and Himachal Pradesh.

Also watch: Assembly Election Results 2023 Live Updates

In addition to its direct control, the BJP is part of ruling coalitions in four states, namely Maharashtra, Nagaland, Sikkim, and Meghalaya.

As of December 2023, BJP-governed regions cover 58% of India’s land area and house 57% of the population. In contrast, Congress-governed states occupy 41% of the country’s land area and account for 43% of the population.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts