Karnataka Elections 2023 National Politics

Karnataka Elections 2023: 28 Seats Where BJP Had Won Against Congress With Less Than 10,000 Votes Margin


Interestingly, Basavraj Bommai (CM) could also not win with a higher margin he won against Congress candidate Sayed Azeempeer Khadri with a 9,265 vote margin on his seat in Shiggaon.

The countdown for the battle for Karnataka assembly Elections has begun. The Election Commission announced the dates for the southern state on Wednesday. The polls are going to be held in a single phase on 10th May 2023 and the results will be announced on 13th May.

A total of 224 constituencies will be voting for choosing their legislative candidate. Top leaders from the BJP and Congress including PM Modi and HM Shah from the BJP and Congress top brass including party chief Mallikarjun Kharge whose Home state is Karnataka are going to be campaigning.

Top BJP leaders claim a landslide victory in the only southern state where it is in power however it is also true that in 2018  the BJP came to power in Karnataka mid-term in 2019 after  H.D. Kumaraswamy led JD (S)-Congress coalition government lost the trust vote.

With an anti-incumbency factor at hand and massive corruption charges on the Bommai dispensation, Congress will have to leave no stone unturned to grab power in the state.

Interestingly in 2018, there were 28 such seats where the BJP won with less than a 10,000 vote margin and political pundits say whenever the vote margin is less the voters are unsure of choosing their candidate, do not have loyalty towards one particular party or candidate and if pursued with efforts the voter can switch to the alternate party.

Let’s speak about some of these seats.

1.Nippani: In 2018 BJP’S Shashikala Jolle won the seat with a vote margin of 8,506 votes and became the MLA for the second time contesting against INC candidate Kakaso Pandurang Patil who is a three-time MLA from the constituency.

2. Saundatti Yellam: Anand Mamani won the seat for the third time in 2018 with a margin of 6,291 against Congress leader Anand Chopra.

3. Ramdurg: Mahadevappa Yadawad defeated two-time MLA  Ashok Mahadevappa Pattan from Congress with a 2,875 vote margin.

4.Bilgi: Murugesh Rudrappa Niran got back his seat after a 5-year gap defeating  Jagadish Timmanagouda Patil of the Congress. Patil first won the seat in 1978 which he retained till 1985 He came back to the office in 1994 for two terms and then in 2013 again.

5. Hungund:  Doddanagowda Patil won against Vijayanand Kashappanavar of the Grand Old Paty and the margin was 5,227.

6. Muddebihal: Appaji Channabasavaraj Shankararao Nadagouda of the Congress for the first time since 1999 lost the seat to  A. S. Patil of the BJP with a margin of 8,633 votes.

Devari Hippargi, Bijapur City, Sedam, Gulbarga Dakshin, Aland, Gangawati, Ron, Nargund, Bhatkal, Yellapur, Hangal, Shiggaon, Harapanahalli, Davanagere, Mayakonda, Honali, Shimog Rural, Sagar, Turuvvekere, Tumkur city, Rajaji Nagar, Chickpet are the other seats where the saffron party won with less than 10,000 votes.

Interestingly, Basavraj Bommai (CM) could also not win with a higher margin he won against Congress candidate Sayed Azeempeer Khadri with a 9,265 vote margin on his seat in Shiggaon.

In the 2018 assembly elections in Karnataka, out of 224 seats, Congress got 80 seats, BJP got 104 seats and JDS bagged 37 seats. Earlier in 2013, Congress got 122 seats while BJP and JDS bagged 40 seats.




Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts