Nawab Malik, Anil Deshmukh Won’t Be Allowed To Vote In Rajya Sabha Polls: Mumbai Court

New Delhi:  An application for one-day bail by arrested Maharashtra ex-minister Anil Deshmukh and minister Nawab Malik to vote in the Rajya Sabha elections was denied by a Mumbai court today.

The Election Commission (EC) has scheduled the election on 18 July, for the next President of India, an official release said.

The term of President Ram Nath Kovind ends on July 25, and according to Article 62 of the Constitution, the next President has to be elected by then.

The President of India is elected by an electoral college that’s formed by 776 parliamentarians and 4,120 legislators. The total strength of the electoral college is 10,98,903 votes.

The NDA has 48.9 per cent of the votes of all MPs and MLAs.

Nawab Malik, a Maharashtra Minister, is in jail since his arrest in February by the central Enforcement Directorate in a money laundering case. The state’s former home minister Anil Deshmukh is also in jail on money-laundering allegations. Both have approached a special court for one-day bail to cast their vote in the Rajya Sabha election on Friday.


Related posts