HW Shorts APP National News News Report Politics

Rahul Gandhi To Contest From Wayanad, Congress Reveals 39 Candidates

The Congress party has revealed its initial list of 39 candidates for the upcoming Lok Sabha elections, with notable leader Rahul Gandhi being nominated from the Wayanad constituency in Kerala. This decision comes after the Central Election Committee (CEC) meeting, where Congress General Secretary KC Venugopal announced the first set of candidates. It remains uncertain whether Rahul Gandhi will also contest from Amethi, his previous stronghold, as candidates from Uttar Pradesh were not included in the initial list.

Rahul Gandhi, who entered politics from Amethi in 2004 and won the seat three times before facing defeat in 2019, secured a Lok Sabha seat from Wayanad in the last elections.


Among the prominent names featured in the Congress’s first list are Bhupesh Baghel, K Muraleedharan, KC Venugopal, and Shashi Tharoor. Bhupesh Baghel, the former Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh, has been fielded from Rajnandgaon, along with other candidates from the state. In Karnataka, where the Congress holds power, seven candidates were announced, including HR Algur Raju, Anandaswamy Gaddadevara Ma, Geetha Shivarajkumar, M Shreyas Patel, SP Muddahanumegowda, Venkataramegowda, and DK Suresh.

From Kerala, the Congress has nominated K Muraleedharan for Thrissur, KC Venugopal for Alappuzha, and Shashi Tharoor for Thiruvananthapuram. The party’s first list did not include candidates from Uttar Pradesh, and the confirmation of Rahul Gandhi’s candidacy from Amethi is still pending.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts