National Politics

Usage Of Words Like ‘Corrupt’, ‘Ashamed’,’Jumlajeevi’ To Be Unparliamentary In RS, LS


Before the start of parliament’s monsoon session scheduled to start from Monday, a new booklet by the Lok Sabha Secretariat was released informing about the words to be considered ‘unparliamentary’ in the Upper and Lower house of the parliament. Terms like ‘jumlajeevi’, ‘baal buddhi’, ‘Covid spreader’ and ‘Snoopgate’ and even commonly used words like ‘ashamed’, ‘abused, ‘betrayed’, ‘corrupt’, ‘drama’, ‘hypocrisy’ and ‘incompetent’ featured in the list of words to be banned in both houses.

The booklet, which lists out unparliamentary words and expressions, says words like ‘anarchist’, ‘Shakuni’, ‘dictatorial’, ‘taanashah’, ‘taanashahi’, ‘Jaichand’, ‘vinash purush’, ‘Khalistani’ and ‘khoon se kheti’ would also be expunged from the record if used during a debate or otherwise by the parliamentarians.

As per the booklet, the Lok Sabha secretariat has also listed terms like ‘dohra charitra’, ‘nikamma’, ‘nautanki’, ‘dhindora peetna’ and ‘behri sarkar’ to be unparliamentary.

In different Legislative bodies in the country as well as in Commonwealth Parliaments, several words and expressions are declared unparliamentary from time to time by the Chair. These words  have been compiled by the Lok Sabha Secretariat for ready reference in the future.

However, speakers of the both Upper and Lower house will have a last say on which words and experssions should be expunged.

Besides the words disallowed in some of the Commonwealth Parliaments in 2020, the booklet also contains  references to words and expressions declared unparliamentary in Lok Sabha, Rajya Sabha and state legislatures in India during 2021.

During the parliamentary proceedings, the list states, some of the keywords may not appear unparliamentary unless read in conjunction with the other expressions spoken.

The booklet also strikes restrictions on any aspersions made against the Chair in both the houses in either English or Hindi and will be considered unparliamentary. These will be expunged from the records of Parliament.

English words like ‘bloodshed’, ‘bloody’, ‘betrayed’, ‘ashamed’, ‘abused’, ‘cheated, ‘chamcha’, ‘chamchagiri’, ‘chelas’, ‘childishness’, ‘corrupt’, ‘coward’, ‘criminal’ and ‘crocodile tears’ have also been listed as unparliamentary in booklet.

Moreover, words like ‘disgrace’, ‘donkey’, ‘drama’, ‘eyewash’, ‘fudge’, ‘hooliganism’, ‘hypocrisy’, ‘incompetent’, ‘mislead’, ‘lie’ and ‘untrue’ also make it to the list of banned words.

Hindi terms which have been listed as unparliamentary in the booklet are ‘gaddar’, ‘girgit’, ‘goons’, ‘ghadiyali ansu’, ‘apmaan’, ‘asatya’, ‘ahankaar’, ‘corrupt’, ‘kala din’, ‘kala bazaari’ and ‘khareed farokht’.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts