National Politics

Amid Fear Of Revolt From MPs, Team Thackeray Names New Whip For Lok Sabha

Shiv Sena led by Uddhav Thackeray has appointed a new Chief Whip for the Lok Sabha, fearing revolt by even party’s parliamentarians. 

The Shiv Sena faction led by Uddhav Thackeray, battered by collapse in Maharashtra assembly after revolt by Eknath Shinde, has appointed a new Chief Whip for the Lok Sabha, fearing revolt by even party’s parliamentarians. In a letter to the Lok Sabha Speaker today, senior leader Sanjay Raut wrote that Rajan Vichare has been appointed the Chief Whip, replacing Bhawna Gawli.

Uddhav Thackeray lost 40 of his 55 MLAs after a rebellion by Eknath Shinde. This led to the collapse of the MVA government in Maharashtra.

A day after Uddhav Thackeray resigned as Chief Minister, the group led by Eknath Shinde joined hands with BJP and staked claim to form government. The group succeeded in forming government and Shinde was named as CM.

After taking oath, the new alliance succeeded in electing their speaker, and has also picked a Chief Whip in Maharashtra Assembly. Moreover, they have also requested to disqualify MLAs from Team Thackeray for defying the Whip during the trust vote in the assembly.

On basis of two-thirds majority in legislature, Eknath Shinde has also claimed that his faction is the real Shiv Sena. However, he has not taken up the matter to Election Commission, body authorized to deal with such conflicts.


Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts