Andhra Pradesh Special Category row: Five YSRCP MPs to resign from Lok Sabha

The YSRCP MPs alleged that there is an outrage as their no-confidence motion could not be taken up for discussion in the lower house.


After days of protest over Andhra Pradesh Special Category Status, YSRCP MPs in Lok Sabha submitted their resignation to the Lok Sabha speaker. The MPs alleged that the “failure” of the government to accord special status category to the state of Andhra Pradesh drove them to resign from the Lok Sabha. Reportedly, the MPs will meet Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan at around 2 PM and submit their resignation.

The YSRCP MPs decided to tender their resignation after the Lok Sabha was adjourned for another day following the ruckus in the parliament. The opposition parties have moved in total three ‘No-confidence Motions’ against the Modi government. However, till date, the motions haven’t been taken up for discussion. While the opposition claimed that their voice is being stifled even after having the required support of 50 MPs to take up the motion, the speaker adjourned the house saying the motions can’t be taken up until the ruckus stops.

In the press conference, the YSRCP MPs alleged that there is an outrage as their no-confidence motion could not be taken up for discussion in the lower house. Another YSRCP MP Velagapalli said that even after moving the no-confidence notice 12 times it wasn’t taken up for discussion.

He also said that both Andhra Pradesh CM Chandrababu Naidu and PM Modi have failed to keep their promise to Andhra people and are “disrespecting democracy”.

He also accused Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu of “disrespecting democracy”, saying both the leaders “failed” to keep their promises to the people of Andhra Pradesh.

YSRCP President Jagan Mohan Reddy also challenged Chandrababu Naidu to make the party MPs resign from the Lok Sabha and stand in solidarity with the people. He tweeted, “We do as we say! YSRCP MPs are submitting their resignations today. I challenge @ncbn to make TDP MPs resign and stand united with the people of AP in their rightful demand of special category status for Andhra Pradesh.”

Revealing the further plans of YSRCP after the resignation of MPs, he said that the MPs will “go on an indefinite hunger strike” at Andhra Pradesh Bhawan while the Andhra Pradesh people will observe hunger strike across the state.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts