News Politics

BJP’s Virendra Kumar to be the Protem speaker of 17th Lok Sabha

New Delhi | BJP MP from Madhya Pradesh’s Tikamgarh Constituency Virendra Kumar Kathik is appointed as the Protem speaker on the new 17th Lok Sabha.

As reported by News Agency ANI, Virendra Kumar, a 7 time MP will be the Protem speaker until a permanent speaker is appointed by the Lower House.

Virendra Kumar a 7time MP from Madhya Pradesh – 4 times from Sagar constituency and 3 time from Tikamgarh constituency. In the previous Narendra Modi cabinet, Kumar was the Minister of State for Minority Affairs and Minister of State for Women and Child Development.

A Pro-tem Speaker is a temporary speaker appointed for a limited period of time to conduct the works in Lok Sabha. The Protem speaker is the senior most member of the house who conducts the proceedings of the house until the speaker and deputy speaker of not appointed.

The Pro-tem Speaker administers the oath of office to new members of the house. After the appointment of the new Speaker, the office of the pro tem speaker comes to end.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts