Mood Delhi

Delhi Elections 2020: Muslim-dominated Seats Record Highest Voter Turnouts, Highest in Seelampur

Seelampur, Mustafabad and Matia Mahal — recorded the highest voter turnout in the elections in which the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is seeking to retain power.

New Delhi| Even after an unenthusiastic response from voters on polling day, most of the assembly constituencies with a significant Muslim population in Delhi recorded a voter turnout higher than the overall turnout in the capital with Seelampur witnessing the highest voter footfall across all 70 constituencies.

The highest turnout, until 9 pm, was recorded in Seelampur at 71.4% followed by Mustafabad at 70.56%; both seats are in northeast Delhi. Matia Mahal in old Delhi recorded a turnout of 70.33%.

According to the Election Commission of India’s (ECI), the total turnout in Delhi was recorded at 61.7 per cent till midnight, a decline of nearly six percentage points over the 2015 polls when a 67.12 per cent of the voters came out to vote.

All the major exit polls have predicted an AAP return in Delhi this year with most of them predicting 50-55 seats for the Arvind Kejriwal-led party in the 70-member Delhi assembly.

Also Watch: Alka Lamba slaps AAP worker at polling booth

However, an exit poll by Sudarshan News claims that the BJP will win anywhere in between 40-45 seats.

In the 70-member National capital Assembly, 36 is the winning mark.

There are 70 assembly constituencies in Delhi. While Aam Adami Party, Congress and BJP remain the three major parties, together all the political parties have fielded 672 candidates. The election campaign for this assembly election remained high-pitched and bitter as Shaheen Bagh and Anti-CAA Protests dominated the narrative.

In 2015, AAP which was the new party had won whopping 67 seats. 3 were won by BJP and congress faced a rout. Subsequently, in the MCD polls, BJP had a resounding victory. Even in 2019 Assembly elections, BJP bagged all the seven seats. Will the AAP repeat 2015 performance or BJP continues its winning streak in Delhi that remains to be seen.
Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts