HW English
Legislative Council
Mood Delhi National Politics

Delhi Elections: Congress deposit seized in 67 out of 70 constituencies

The Congress said that it accepted the mandate and resolved to reform the party in the national capital.


New Delhi| The results of the Delhi Assembly elections have once again hit Congress. The party could not win a single seat. In addition, the deposit of 67 candidates was seized out of 70 assemblies.

The three seats where Congress has managed to secure bail are Gandhi Nagar, Badali and Kasturba Nagar. At the same time, MLA Alka Lamba from Chandni Chowk could not save her deposit. Alka has left the Aam Aadmi Party and joined the Congress.

Also Read: Hate-0, Development-13: BJP Lost All Constituencies Where They Led Hate Campaign

Meanwhile, the Congress, which has suffered a tremendous defeat, congratulated Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal. The Congress said that it accepted the mandate and resolved to reform the party in the national capital. Delhi Pradesh Congress Committee Chairman Subhash Chopra accepted the moral responsibility of defeat and accused the BJP and Aam Aadmi Party of polarization.

Congress chief spokesman Randeep Surjewala told reporters, “The people have given their mandate. The mandate is also given against the Congress. We humbly accept this mandate on behalf of Congress and the DPCC.” He said, “We are not disappointed. The resolve to strengthen the Congress at the grassroots level is renewed. We thank the Congress workers and colleagues. We take the resolve to renew.”

The Aam Aadmi Party is looking to win over 60 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party is leading in 62 seats in the trends till 7 pm. Apart from this, the BJP has won only seven seats. Congress could not win any seat. After the victory, Arvind Kejriwal said that Hanuman ji has blessed Delhi and with his grace will run the government for the next five years. He said that this is not just the victory of Delhi but the victory of the whole of India.

Related posts

Time has come to review Election Commission’s selection process: Congress

News Desk

UN to decide global terrorist tag on Masood Azhar today

Anil Rajpurohit

FM Nirmala Sitharaman Presser: States Can Now Borrow 5% Of GSDP