The former ministers Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes receives Padma Vibhushan

This year list adds 34 of the women awardees includes, boxer MC Mary, badminton star PV Sindhu, Bollywood personalities Ekta Kapoor, and Kangana Ranaut

NEW DELHI| On Saturday Home ministry announced the Padma Vibhushan awards list. The list includes the name of the former central ministers Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj and George Fernandes, who have been posthumously awarded Padma Vibhushan, India’s second-highest civilian honour. 

Also, Former Goa Chief Minister Manohar Parrikar has been given Padma Bhushan, the third-highest civilian award in India. This 2020 year’s Padma Awards list comprises of 7 Padma Vibhushan, 16 Padma Bhushan and 118 Padma Shri Awards the statement read.

Also Read: President confers Padma awards on 47 ‘inspiring’ personalities

This year’s list adds 34 of the women awardees. Olympic medal winner boxer MC Mary Kom has been given Padma Vibhushan along with badminton star PV Sindhu who has been conferred Padma Bhushan.

Amongst the singers, the classical singer of Varanasi, Chhannulal Mishra, is among the Padma Vibhushan awardees. Playback Suresh Wadkar has been awarded Padma Shri (the fourth highest civilian honour).

Bollywood celebrities Karan Johar, Ekta Kapoor and Kangana Ranaut are among the Padma Shri awardees.

18 more people from the category of “Foreigners/NRI/PIO/OCI” have also been awarded. Mauritius Prime Minister Anerood Gugnauth has got the Padma Vibhushan.

Industrialists Anand Mahindra and Venu Shrinivasan, former Nagaland Chief Minister SC Jamir and Jammu and Kashmir politician Muzaffar Hussain Baig have been awarded India’s second-highest civilian honour Padma Bhushan.

The founder Sanjeev Bikhchandani, industrialist Bharat Goenka, and technocrat Nemnath Jain have been given Padma Shri.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts