News Politics

Former Mumbai Mayor’s ‘Washing Machine’ Jibe On Maharashtra Cabinet Expansion

Mumbai Mayor
Former Mumbai mayor Kishori Pednekar claimed the BJP is like a washing machine and once leaders go there, they come out clean.

Mumbai: Kishori Pednekar, a former mayor of Mumbai, asserted that the BJP is like a washing machine and that once leaders enter it, they come out clean. The statement came after the admission of rebel Shiv Sena MLAs Sanjay Rathod and Abdul Sattar into the Maharashtra cabinet on Tuesday.

Mr. Rathod, who served in the previous Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) administration under Uddhav Thackeray, resigned last year for his suspected involvement in a woman’s death. He had to resign from the Uddhav Thackeray cabinet after the opposition BJP protested against him.

Three of Mr. Sattar’s daughters and a son were recently listed among the 7,880 candidates who were barred and disqualified over the alleged rigging of the Teachers’ Eligibility Test (TET) 2019–20.

After the two leaders were appointed to the Maharashtra cabinet led by Eknath Shinde, Ms. Pednekar, a member of the Uddhav Thackeray led Shiv Sena group said, “It’s (the BJP) like a washing machine. Once they go there, they come out clean.” Chief Minister Eknath Shinde said Mr Rathod was given a clean chit by police when the MVA was in power. Hence, he was included in the state cabinet.

In June of this year, Mr. Shinde and 39 other Sena lawmakers staged a coup against the party’s leadership, which resulted in the fall of the MVA administration headed by Uddhav Thackeray. On June 30, Mr. Shinde took the oath of office as chief minister, and BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis did likewise as deputy chief minister.

Today, Chief Minister Shinde expanded the cabinet of the Shinde faction Sena BJP government. At Raj Bhavan in south Mumbai, 18 lawmakers, including Sanjay Rathod and Abdul Sattar, were sworn in as cabinet ministers.

Chandrakant Patil, Sudhir Mugantiwar, Girish Mahajan, Suresh Khade, Radhakrishna Vikhe Patil, Ravindra Chavhan, Mangal Prabhat Lodha, Vijaykumar Gavit and Atul Save are the 9 ministers sworn in from the BJP , and Dada Bhuse, Shambhuraje Desai, Sandeepan Bhumre, Uday Samant, Tanaji Sawant, Abdul Sattar, Deepak Kesarkar, Gulabrao Patil and Sanja Rathaud took oath as ministers from the BJP and Shinde led Shiv Sena for the Maharashtra government.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts