HW English
Politics Rewinding 2018

Kamal Nath takes oath as Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh

Bhopal | Veteran Congress leader and 9 time MP Kamal Nath on Monday took oath as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan.

Former Chief Minister and BJP leader Shivraj Singh Chouhan was also present at the oath-taking ceremony of Kamal Nath. Various opposition leader including Congress President Rahul Gandhi, former prime minister H D Devegowda, Karnataka chief minister H D Kumaraswamy, National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah, RJD leader Tejashwi Yadav, LJD leader Sharad Yadav, Sharad Pawar and TDP chief Chandrababu Naidu. Guna MP and Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia was also present at the ceremony.

Appointed as the Madhya Pradesh Congress Committee president on April 26, Nath was at the forefront in steering the party to a win in the November 28 Assembly polls. The results were declared on December 11.

The Congress, which won 114 seats, has secured the support of 121 MLAs, including SP (1) and BSP (2) legislators and four independents, to cross the majority mark of 116 seats in the 230-member assembly.

The BJP, which ruled the state for 15 years, got 109 seats in the elections. The saffron party’s Shivraj Singh Chouhan was the state’s longest-serving chief minister since taking charge in 2005.


Related posts

Election Body ad format for candidates to declare criminal records ready


If Sadhvi had cursed Masood Azhar instead, would not have needed surgical strikes: Digvijaya Singh

News Desk

Home Ministry denies Rahul Gandhi’s allegations on removal of SPG chief, calls it ‘baseless’