HW English
Congress; wayanad

Mass resignation in Congress underway, days after Rahul slammed leaders for not taking responsiblity of defeat

New Delhi | The Congress party on Friday witnessed a long list of resignation by its party leaders. The stream of resignation comes after party President Rahul Gandhi decided to make administrative changes in the party.

The list of leaders resigning started after Congress MP Vivek Tankha resigned from his post of Congress legal and human rights cell chairman. Submitting his resignation Tankha said,” Congress cannot afford a stalemate for too long and urged other party leaders to submit their resignation.

In a series of tweet Tankha wrote,” We all should submit our resignations from party positions and give Rahulji a free hand to choose his team… Party cannot afford a stalemate for too long.”

After Tankha’s resignation, Congress general secretary in charge of Madhya Pradesh Dipak Babaria and Goa unit chief Girish Chodankar also tendered their resignation taking responsibility of party’s loss in their respective state. Babaria in his resignation letter wrote, “I believe that it is not only your responsibility but a collective responsibility of all the leaders who were in the front and who were responsible for leading the party in their respective states. Therefore, I have decided to resign as General Secretary – AICC and in-charge of MP. ”

Along with these three leaders, Delhi PCC’s working president Rajesh Lilothia, Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee working president Ponnam Prabhakar, Haryana Mahila Congress chief Sumitra Chauhan and All India Congress Committee (AICC) secretaries Rajesh Dharmani and Virender Rathore also submitted their resignation.











The other leaders who submitted their resignation are Haryana Women Congress chief Sumitra Chouhan, General Secretary Netta P Sangma of Meghalaya, Secretary Virender Rathore, Chhattisgarh Secretary Anil Chaudhary, Madhya Pradesh Secretary Sudhir Chaudhary and Haryana Secretary Satyavir Yadav.

The long list of resignation comes after Rahul Gandhi while meeting a delegation of Youth Congress leaders said that he is unhappy that despite his resignation offer some chief ministers, general secretaries, in-charge and senior leaders of party-ruled states did not realize their responsibilities.

Related posts

Priyanka Gandhi assumes charge as AICC general secretary


Additional exclusion list to draft NRC published in Assam


Madhya Pradesh: BJP files complaint against Kamal Nath for tweet against CM Shivraj

News Desk