HW English
Politics Rajasthan Election 2018

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2018: All you need to know


The BJP government in Rajasthan is facing a strong anti-incumbency and according to opinion polls, Congress is likely to snatch the state from BJP.


The election commission on Saturday announced the dates for polling in the five states- Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh, Mizoram and Telangana for the assembly elections. The Chief Election Commissioner OP Rawat informed that the polling in Rajasthan will be held on December 7 in one phase. The tenure of Rajasthan assembly ends on January 20, 2019.

The last date of filing the nominations is November 19 while the final date of scrutiny of the candidate is November 20. The candidates can withdraw their nominations by November 22. The counting of results will take place on December 11.


Currently, Bharatiya Janata Party is ruling the state with Vasundhara Raje Scindia as the Chief Minister. However, the government is facing a strong anti-incumbency in Rajasthan and according to many opinion polls, Congress is likely to snatch the state from BJP.

Here is everything you need to know about the state:


As per details from Census 2011, Rajasthan has the population of 6.86 Crores, an increase from 5.65 Crore in 2001 census. Out of which male and female are 3.5 crores and 3.2 crores respectively. The population of Rajasthan forms 5.66 percent of India, as per the 2011 census data.

Hinduism is majority religion in the state of Rajasthan with 88.49 % followers. Islam is the second most popular religion in the state with approximately 9.07 % following it. Christianity is followed by 0.14 %, Jainism by 0.91 %, Sikhism by 1.27 % and Buddhism by 1.27 % population.


Out of the total population of Rajasthan, 24.87% people live in urban regions. The total figure of population living in urban areas is 1.7 crores. Around 75.13% of Rajasthan’s population live in the villages of rural areas. The Total population of rural areas of Rajasthan according to the 2011 census was 5.1 crores.

Voter population:

According to the election commission of India report issued in 2013, the total voter population in Rajasthan was 4.08 crores. Out of which 2.1 crores were male voters and 1.9 crores were female voters and 24 were registered as others. According to the final voter list released by the Rajasthan Chief Electoral officer Anand Kumar, the number of total electors this year is 4.7 crores. Out of which 2.4 crores are men while 2.2 crores are women. The state currently has 1.13 lakh service voters. Over the last five years, Rajasthan has added 67,53,000 new voters. The state has 51,796 polling centers out of 9,490 are in urban areas while 42,306 are in rural areas.

Image Source: Web


Rajasthan Assembly has total 200 constituencies. While 33 assembly constituency seats are reserved for the scheduled caste candidates, 25 are reserved for Scheduled Tribe candidates.

Image Source: Web

Major Political Parties:

According to the election commission data, there are total six national parties in the state including Bharatiya Janata Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, Communist Party of India, Communist Party of India (Marxist), Indian National Congress and Nationalist Congress Party. There are as many as nine regional parties including Janata Dal (Secular), Janata Dal (United), Samajwadi Party, etc. Rajasthan, however, has 10 regional parties which can influence as many as 30 seats in the state including JD(U), BSP, INLD, NPP etc.

Sachin Pilot
RPCC Chief Sachin Pilot with former Rajasthan CM Ashok Gehlot

Rajasthan Assembly Elections 2013 results:

In the last assembly election, the incumbent Congress received a drubbing and BJP swept the polls which were also projected as a “Modi wave”. The BJP won majority 163 seats while Congress won only 22- just 5 seats more than others. In 2013, BJP’s vote share went drastically up from 39.5% in 2008 to 80.7%. On the other hand, Congress’ vote share fell from 51% to 10.9%. Although there was a strong anti-incumbency against the Gehlot government, he won from his constituency of Sardarpura. After BJP’s win, Vasundhara Raje Scindia was made the CM of the state.

Image Source: Web

Prominent Leaders:

Ashok Gehlot: – Ashok Gehlot is a prominent figure in the Congress party in Rajasthan. He has also served as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan twice, which distinguishes him to be one of the most powerful political leaders in Rajasthan. During his tenure as Chief Minister of Rajasthan, he was strong on development. He has been credited for his drought management and creation of 7 million-days’ employment during severe droughts in Rajasthan.

Ashok Gehlot

Sachin Pilot:

Sachin Pilot stepping in his father’s footsteps entered politics in 2002 at the young age of 25. At the age of 36, he became the youngest Parliamentarian. He lost in 2014 to BJP’s Sanwar Lal Jat. However, still, he was made party’s State Unit President. But, Sachin Pilot’s dedication and hard work went beyond the defeat. has far more connect with common people. A great orator, his Gujjar roots also bring the weight to his position. The pilot is not only charismatic and approachable but also strikes a chord with youngsters. Though, there was news about infighting among the members, the recent Congress rallies where Pilot and Gehlot were together seen campaigning have sent a strong message.


Vasundhara Raje Scindia:

Vasundhara Raje is one of the most powerful political leaders in Rajasthan and is currently serving as the Chief Minister of Rajasthan. Currently the 13th CM of Rajasthan, Raje is the first female CM of Rajasthan. In 1984, Raje entered the Indian political system. Initially, she was made a Member of the National Executive of the newly formed Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). She was also elected as a member of the 8th Rajasthan Assembly from Dholpur. The same year, she was appointed as the Vice President of the Yuva Morcha, Rajasthan BJP.


Related posts

Union ministers Goyal, Javadekar slam Congress leader Sam Pitroda for remarks


High Court refuses to entertain plea seeking ban on ‘The Accidental Prime Minister’ trailer


Security forces won’t let PM Modi’s assassination succeed: Hansraj Ahir

News Desk