Shiv Sena MPs boycott trust vote against the government; abstain from voting

The Shiv Sena on Friday said it will boycott the no-confidence motion against the Bharatiya Janata Party-led National Democratic Alliance government in the Lok Sabha, after a series of flip-flops.

That means they will be abstaining from voting in the motion against the BJP-led NDA government, of which it is an ally. Sources told a news source that while they will abstain from voting, they will still take part in the debate. However, one Sena MP Anandrao Adsul told a news agency, “We are boycotting parliamentary work today and haven’t even signed our attendance.”

Sena chief Uddhav Thackeray conveyed his decision to his party’s 18 members of Parliament just half an hour before the proceedings of the Lok Sabha began. “Our party chief has decided we will not be present in the proceedings today,” Sena MP Chandrakant Khaire said.

The TDP – which introduced the no-confidence motion had hoped that the Sena would support and had sent feelers to the party. The TDP had even claimed that on the day of voting, not just the Sena, but even disgruntled MPs from BJP and other National Democratic Alliance (NDA) would support the no-trust motion.

“We have many things to say about the functioning of the government, but whatever we want to say we will convey at an appropriate time,” senior Sena leader and Rajya Sabha MP Sanjay Raut concluded.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts