TDP moves no-confidence motion against centre ahead of Parliament’s monsoon session

New Delhi | Telugu Desam Party (TDP) MP Kesineni Srinivas on Tuesday wrote to Lok Sabha Secretary-General to include a no-confidence motion in the council of ministers over the Andhra Pradesh special status row, in the list of business on the first day of the Monsoon session of the parliament.

Earlier on July 15, TDP President and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu wrote letters to non-BJP, non-Congress parties’ presidents and Parliamentary party leaders seeking support on a no-confidence motion against the Centre in the upcoming monsoon session of Parliament over the demand for special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

A delegation comprising of TDP leader C.M. Ramesh, T.G. Venkatesh and M. Murali Mohan also met DMK Rajya Sabha MP Kanimozhi in Chennai on Monday and sought support on a no-confidence motion against the Centre.

The TDP had earlier made six-subgroups of the party leaders, who would meet and handover Chandrababu Naidu’s letter and a booklet explaining the injustice done to the state and seek support.

During the last Budget Session in 2017, the Parliament secretariat received three notices on a no-confidence motion against the central government for its refusal to grant special category status to Andhra Pradesh.

Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts