IPL 2022 Playoffs(QUALIFIER1)-Race For The Finals

The countdown has begun for the Tata IPL 2022 Finals, it’s just a matter of 4 games now and the champion of the season will be revealed, after 2 months of non-stop t20 action. But before that let’s talk about what we have on the table tonight.

After 70 games in the city of dreams, today’s game will be played in the city of joy at the legendary Eden gardens starting to stream at 7:30 PM at star sports and Disney Hotstar.The two teams locking horns today are not only Geographically next to each other but have successfully maintained that on the points table.

Gujrat Titans although a new franchise had no hiccups throughout the campaign.

Their first defeat came after winning 3 games on the trot.

The franchise saw Hardik Pandya bowling regularly which was not in the case before the start of the tournament, David Miller back in form after years of the drought of runs, the consistent Mohamad Shami was himself throughout the tournament, and Youngsters like Abhinav Manohar and Yash Dayal also projected glimpses of their potential.

Rajasthan on the other hand were  going well until they decided on some experiments in the batting order. However, the team managed to reach the top and hold stock of the second position, especially with the support of Joss Buttler who tops the list of most runs with 629 runs and has the same position in highest score with116 runs, and Yuzvendra Chahal who is the highest wicket-taker with 26 wickets and an economy  7.67, he also has a fifer in the season.

Rain winking?: Kolkata saw some showers in the morning but the weather seems good for a full-fledged game now, if not the result will be decided with a super over in the worst of cases, which surely would disappoint fans of both sides.

When they last met: Even after  a half century from Buttler Gujrat Titans comfortably took home 2 points with the efforts of Pandya 87*, Manohar 43, in the batting department, and Ferguson 3-23, Dayal 3-40) in the bowling unit.

Probable 11:

Gujarat Titans: Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Shubman Gill, Matthew Wade, Hardik Pandya (c), David Miller, Rahul Tewatia, Rashid Khan, Sai Kishore, Lockie Ferguson, Yash Dayal, Mohammad Shami

Rajasthan Royals: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Shimron Hetmyer, Riyan Parag, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, Yuzvendra Chahal, Obed McCoy.

The winner will play the finals on 29th May at the Narendra Modi stadium, Gujarat whereas the loser will play the eliminator with the team(LSG VS RCB) that wins tomorrow in the eliminator which will be played at the same venue.


Dear Readers,
As an independent media platform, we do not take advertisements from governments and corporate houses. It is you, our readers, who have supported us on our journey to do honest and unbiased journalism. Please contribute, so that we can continue to do the same in future.

Related posts