Centre Invites Opposition To Solve Rajya Sabha Logjam, TMC Leader Terms It As 'Failed Stunt'

Centre Invites Opposition To Solve Rajya Sabha Logjam, TMC Leader Terms It As Failed Stunt

New Delhi: The Centre wrote to floor leaders of four opposition parties whose members were suspended from Rajya Sabha and has called them for a meeting in Parliament at 10 am on December 20. Union Parliamentary Affairs Minister Pralhad Joshi has written to leaders of Congress, TMC, CPI(M), CPI and Shiv Sena whose MPs were suspended from Rajya Sabha. He called their floor leaders over the phone too.

Shiv Sena MP Sanjay Raut confirmed receiving the phone call from Joshi. "Pralhad Joshi called me for a meeting with leaders of four political parties - Congress, TMC, CPI(M) and CPI whose Rajya Sabha MPs are suspended, tomorrow at 10 am in Parliament Library Building," he was quoted as saying by ANI.

As per Opposition sources, they will be attending a meeting in Rajya Sabha Leader of Opposition Mallikarjun Kharge's room in Parliament at 9:45 am before taking a final call on the government's invitation.

Meanwhile, the Opposition has stated that the protests would continue until the suspension order from the winter session of Parliament, of the MPs, is rescinded. They are unlikely to attend the meeting with the government on Monday unless all opposition parties are called.

TMC leader Derek O'Brien on Twitter wrote: "Monday morning STUNT from a Govt. who do not want Parliament to function. Govt calls leaders of the 4 Oppn parties whose 12 RS MPs have been arbitrarily suspended. Govt leaves the other 10 Opposition parties out. Failed stunt. ALL OPPN clear: first revoke the arbitrary suspension."


12 Rajya Sabha MPs suspended for 'violent behaviour'

As many as 12 Opposition MPs were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for the rest of the Winter Session on account of 'unruly behaviour' during the Monsoon Session of Parliament.

The official notice said, "This House takes cognisance and strongly condemns the utter disregard of the authority of the Chair, complete abuse of rules of the House persistently, thereby wilfully obstructing the business of the House through their unprecedented acts of misconduct, contemptuous, unruly and violent behaviour and intentional attacks on security personnel on the last day of 254th Session of Rajya Sabha i.e. August 11."


1. Elamaram Kareem (CPM)

2. Phulo Devi Netam (INC)

3. Chhaya Verma (INC)

4. Ripun Bora (INC)

5. Binoy Viswam (CPI)

6. Rajamani Patel (INC)

7. Dola Sen (TMC)

8. Shanta Chhetri (TMC)

9. Syed Nasir Hussain (INC)

10. Priyanka Chaturvedi (Shiv Sena)

11. Anil Desai (Shiv Sena)

12. Akhilesh Prasad Singh (INC)

Next Story
Share it
To Top