HW English
National Politics

“Mandate Against NDA”: RJD To Boycott Bihar Oath Ceremony

The RJD leader had earlier raised serious allegations in regards to irregularities in the Bihar assembly elections held a few days ago.

Tejashwi Yadav, the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) leader, has decided not to attend the oath-taking ceremony of Bihar Chief Minister-designate Nitish Kumar of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) scheduled to be held in Patna today.

Stating that the mandate was against the NDA, the RJD said it was boycotting the event.

The party, in a tweet posted in Hindi, said: “The people’s mandate has been turned into a government order. Ask the unemployed, farmers, contract workers and employed teachers of Bihar what is going on with them. The public is agitated by the fraud of the NDA. We are the public’s representatives and stand with them.”

The RJD, in another tweet taking a dig at the JDU and the BJP, said: that two helpless entities were forming a government in Bihar today: one helpless because it is weak and corrupt, the other because it is faceless.

The RJD leader had earlier raised serious allegations in regards to irregularities in the Bihar assembly elections held a few days ago. Mr Yadav had also demanded recounting of postal ballot votes in all constituencies where they were counted at the end.

Earlier on Sunday, NDA legislature party leaders had met to name him the leader of the alliance in the Assembly, paving the way for Nitish Kumar’s return as Chief Minister.

Out of 243 assembly seats in Bihar, the NDA had managed to win 125 seats, three seats more than required for a majority.

Amid speculations about a probable change of CM face after the voters’ mandate was seen as one against the Chief Minister, the MLAs of the ruling alliance formally named Mr Kumar as their leader today.

However, despite BJP leaders making it clear in pre and post-election statements that Nitish Kumar would continue to be the CM of Bihar, speculations were rife about his re-election for a fourth term since the JDU could only scoop up 45 seats with its vote share dropping to 15 per cent.

The JD(U) led by Nitish Kumar was pushed to the third number in recent elections, as opponent Tejashwi Yadav’s RJD emerged as a single largest party. The BJP outperformed its ally JD(U) becoming the second-largest party in the elections.

Tejashwi Yadav on Thursday took a jibe at Nitish Kumar, saying his party RJD was the winner of the election as the Chief Minister and the Prime Minister couldn’t stop it from becoming the single-largest party with 75 seats.

Related posts

“Dadi’s Prinicples continue to be the guiding force”, Rahul Gandhi on Indira Gandhi’s death

News Desk

M N Rao’s appointment as interim CBI chief not illegal or unauthorised, says SC


Vadodara Civic Body Shifted Rs 265 Cr, hours before RBI moratorium on Yes Bank

News Desk